JGR Shuffles Nationwide Crews Chiefs Once More

Joe Gibbs Racing will change its Nationwide Series crew chiefs for the third time in three weeks as it continues to adjust its personnel following the suspensions of seven team members.

Doug Hewitt, who was crew chief for the No. 18 team with driver Kyle Busch last week at Bristol, will be the crew chief of the No. 20 team with driver Joey Logano this weekend at Auto Club (Calif.) Speedway.

Michael Sibley, who was crew chief for Logano’s NASCAR East Series championship team last year, will be crew chief for the No. 18 team this weekend.

Wally Brown was the No. 20 team crew chief last week. Brown directs the JGR testing teams and will serve as crew chief for Logano in at least two Sprint Cup races later this year, including Logano's attempt to make his series debut Sept. 6 at Richmond International Raceway.

Seven JGR employees were suspended last week after NASCAR found magnetic spacers underneath the gas pedals during a horsepower test. Those indefinitely suspended were both the No. 18 and No. 20 team crew chiefs (Dave Rogers, Jason Ratcliff), car chiefs (Richard Bray, Dorian Thorsen) and engine tuners (Dan Bajek, Michael Johnson) as well as one additional employee (Toby Bigelow) who played a role in the rule infraction. Scenedaily.com

Social Media Auto Publish Powered By : XYZScripts.com