Eury named Wypall crew chief of the race

Hendrick Motorsports' crew chief Tony Eury Jr. has been named the Wypall Wipers crew chief of the race following Sunday’s LifeLock 400 at Michigan International Speedway.

Eury, the crew chief for race-winner Dale Earnhardt Jr., took a chance on fuel mileage and opted not to pit in the closing laps when others did, and the driver nursed the car to the finish for the team's first victory this weekend.

“I told him to just save gas because worst-case scenario, we finish 25th, or we’ll wind up winning, if things just roll right," Eury said.

Following the sixth caution of the day on lap 199, Eury Jr. instructed Earnhardt to cut off his engine and coast so he would have every ounce of fuel for a two-lap, green-white-checkered flag finish.

“Normally, we would not take the risk to trade the top-five for a possible win because half the time it doesn't work out, but he did the right thing today," Earnhardt Jr. said of Eury's call.

The 2008 Wypall Wipers Crew Chief Challenge is a season-long contest. Following each race, a panel will vote to determine which crew chief demonstrated the most outstanding strategy and leadership during the race. It isn’t necessarily the crew chief that goes to victory lane, but the crew chief who makes the biggest difference for his team.

Voters are representatives from the company together with Fox/Speed television analyst Jeff Hammond, and a panel including Todd Berrier of Richard Childress Racing’s No. 29 Kevin Harvick team, Bob Osborne of Roush Fenway Racing’s Carl Edwards team and Kenny Francis of Gillett Evernham Motorsports’ Kasey Kahne team.

Social Media Auto Publish Powered By :