Hornish collects more hardware

Three-time IndyCar Series champion Sam Hornish Jr. was honored by the members of the American Auto Racing Writers and Broadcasters Association on Jan. 13 at the Hyatt Regency in Indianapolis.

Hornish collected his third "Horsepower Trophy" after being named to the organization's All-America Auto Racing first team. He was also a finalist for the Jerry Titus Award, given in remembrance of the late racer/journalist, which signifies the top vote-getter on the All-America team regardless of category. Drag racing champion Tony Schumacher won the award.

"2006 was a great year for us, even if we won Indy and the championship by the slimmest of margins," Hornish said in accepting the award. "Hopefully we can repeat the success, but have a little more breathing room."

Hornish won four races, including the 90th Indianapolis 500 with a dramatic frontstretch pass of rookie Marco Andretti that gave team owner Roger Penske a 14th victory in "The Greatest Spectacle in Racing." Hornish also was nominated for Autosport's International Driver of the Year award and is among the finalists for the SPEED Performer of the Year award.

Dan Wheldon, who came within a few laps of successfully defending his IndyCar Series title, was named to the second team. Hornish's Team Penske teammate, two-time Indianapolis 500 winner Helio Castroneves, was an honorable mention selection.

Social Media Auto Publish Powered By : XYZScripts.com