More NASCAR cheaters slammed

NASCAR announced Monday that fines have been issued to five NASCAR NEXTEL Cup Series crew chiefs resulting from rule violations leading up to the July 2 Pepsi 400 at Daytona International Speedway.

Joel Shear, crew chief of the #09 Dodge driven by Johnny Sauter and Dan Kolanda, crew chief for the #89 Dodge driven by Morgan Shepherd, were each fined $10,000 due to unapproved upper rear coil spring mounts, a violation of Sections 12-4-A (actions detrimental to stock car racing) and 12-4-Q (car, car parts, components and/or equipment that do not conform to NASCAR rules) of the NASCAR NEXTEL Cup Series rule book. The infractions were found during opening day inspection June 30.

Shear was fined an additional $5,000 for violating NASCAR probation, a breach of Section 12-4-A.

Harold Holly, [former] crew chief of the #32 Chevrolet driven by Bobby Hamilton Jr., was also fined $10,000 when post-qualifying inspection revealed violations of Sections 12-4-A and 12-4-Q (unapproved lubrication oil reservoir tank cover).

Additionally, Glenn Darrow, crew chief for the #37 Dodge of Kevin Lepage, was fined $2,500 after being found in violation of 12-4-A and 12-4-Q (unapproved fuel cell foam) following opening-day inspection.

Also, Tony Eury Jr., crew chief of the #15 Chevrolet driven by Michael Waltrip, was fined $500 because he missed the pre-race driver’s meeting, a violation of 12-4-A and 12-4-I (failure to attend driver’s meeting). NASCAR PR

Social Media Auto Publish Powered By :