Zhou wins race 1 as Schumacher scrambles to ensure title

Ferrari junior Guan Yu Zhou wins race 1
Ferrari junior Guan Yu Zhou wins race 1

Ferrari junior Guan Yu Zhou won the first race of the Formula 3 European Championship finale at Hockenheim, as Mick Schumacher choked with a first-lap collision that damaged his wing that required a pitstop to change it.

Schumacher was battling Marcus Armstrong for sixth on the opening lap when he hit the New Zealander through the fast right-hander into the Mercedes Arena.

He battled back to finish 12th but his chief rival, Daniel Ticktum was 6th.

This puts Ticktum 39 points behind Schumacher going into the second race, meaning he needs at least a podium finish from 15th on the grid to have any hope of wresting the crown from front-row starter Schumacher.

Full story to follow……

Result – Race 1

1 Guan Yu Zhou PREMA Theodore Racing Dallara/Mercedes 0.000s
2 Robert Shwartzman PREMA Theodore Racing Dallara/Mercedes 2.339s
3 Juri Vips Motopark Dallara/Volkswagen 2.988s
4 Alex Palou Hitech Bullfrog GP Dallara/Mercedes 5.638s
5 Dan Ticktum Motopark Dallara/Volkswagen 6.330s
6 Ralf Aron PREMA Theodore Racing Dallara/Mercedes 8.588s
7 Sacha Fenestraz Carlin Dallara/Volkswagen 9.374s
8 Nikita Troitskiy Carlin Dallara/Volkswagen 13.531s
9 Enaam Ahmed Hitech Bullfrog GP Dallara/Mercedes 14.287s
10 Frederik Vesti Van Amersfoort Racing Dallara/Mercedes 15.076s
11 Julian Hanses Carlin Dallara/Volkswagen 16.606s
12 Mick Schumacher PREMA Theodore Racing Dallara/Mercedes 17.053s
13 Artem Petrov Van Amersfoort Racing Dallara/Mercedes 18.187s
14 Ben Hingeley Hitech Bullfrog GP Dallara/Mercedes 20.085s
15 Sophia Florsch Van Amersfoort Racing Dallara/Mercedes 20.962s
16 Jonathan Aberdein Motopark Dallara/Volkswagen 22.732s
17 Keyvan Andres Van Amersfoort Racing Dallara/Mercedes 23.299s
18 Sebastian Fernandez Motopark Dallara/Volkswagen 23.495s
19 Marino Sato Motopark Dallara/Volkswagen 24.249s
20 Ameya Vaidyanathan Carlin Dallara/Volkswagen 25.401s
Ferdinand Habsburg Carlin Dallara/Volkswagen Retirement
Fabio Scherer Motopark Dallara/Volkswagen Retirement
Marcus Armstrong PREMA Theodore Racing Dallara/Mercedes Retirement
Jehan Daruvala Carlin Dallara/Volkswagen Retirement

Social Media Auto Publish Powered By : XYZScripts.com