New Nationwide car testing dates set

The new car for the NASCAR Nationwide Series will participate in a two-day test session on Tuesday, May 18 and Wednesday, May 19 in preparation for its competition debut in the July 2 Subway Jalapeno 250 Powered By Coca-Cola, part of the Coke Zero 400 Weekend Powered By Coca-Cola.

Among the drivers expected to participate in the test include 2007 Daytona 500 champion Kevin Harvick, Kyle Busch, Carl Edwards, Joey Logano, Brad Keselowski, Justin Allgaier, Steve Wallace, Brendan Gaughan, Paul Menard, Colin Braun, Ricky Stenhouse Jr., Brian Scott, Michael Annett, Jason Leffler, Reed Sorenson, Trevor Bayne, Joe Nemechek, Landon Cassell, Steve Arpin and James Buescher.

The two-day test is open to the public with free access to a section of the Oldfield Grandstands through the lobby of Daytona 500 Experience, “The Official Attraction of NASCAR."

In addition, a tram-tour only ticket will be available to transport race fans into the Sprint FANZONE to view all the testing action for $15. If race fans have already purchased a Subway Jalapeno 250 Powered By Coca-Cola ticket, check-in at the Guest Service counter inside the Daytona 500 experience for free admission to the tram tour.
During the noon lunch break on the first day of testing on Tuesday, May 18, NASCAR Nationwide Series Director Joe Balash along with Allgaier, who drives for Penske Racing, will participate in a fan forum in the Sprint FANZONE and answer questions regarding the next generation race car for the Nationwide Series.

In addition to the competition debut of the new car for the NASCAR Nationwide Series, the Subway Jalapeno 250 Powered By Coca-Cola will also mark the return of the No. 3 car with Dale Earnhardt Jr. behind the wheel.

Earnhardt Jr. recently announced that he will drive a blue and yellow No. 3 Wrangler Chevrolet that his his father, the late seven-time NASCAR champion Dale Earnhardt Sr., made famous in the 100-lap, 250 mile race.

The entry of the No. 3 car in the 100-lap, 250-mile race is a joint effort between Richard Childress Racing, JR Motorsports, Dale Earnhardt Inc. and Wrangler and pays tribute to Earnhardt Sr.’s upcoming induction into the NASCAR Hall Of Fame.

Social Media Auto Publish Powered By :