New GrandAm DP team

The 2010 Grand-Am Rolex Sports Car Series Presented by Crown Royal Cask No.16 will welcome a new Daytona Prototype entry this season in the form
of Starworks Motorsport.

Peter Baron, no stranger to the Rolex Sports Car Series as a race-winning Team Principal, is leading the operation with one of his key hires being to sign up Bill Riley from Riley Technologies as the
team’s Race Engineer. In addition Simon Morley joins as Team Manager, bringing with him the experience of winning championships in both Formula One and IndyCar.

“I’m excited to launch Starworks Motorsport," enthused Baron. “This is a fresh organization and a new opportunity to build upon everyone’s experience competing in the Rolex Sports Car Series. We
have a proven on-track package, undoubtedly one of the best engineers in the business – courtesy of Bill’s involvement, an exceptional team manager and an exciting driver line-up. I’m really
looking forward to Daytona and enjoying a solid debut season for the team in Grand-Am."

“This is a great opportunity to help get Peter to the next level and give Riley Technologies a good platform for development of the car and parts," stated Bill Riley. “I’ve known Peter through Daytona
Prototype racing for a few years now and I’m looking forward to working with him. With the upgrades to the car and the driver line-up in place, we should be competitive."

Set to campaign the #7 BMW-Riley Daytona Prototype in the opening round of the season, the ‘Rolex 24 at Daytona’, 30th – 31st January, Starworks Motorsport will then expand to a two-car
operation for the remaining 11 rounds with the introduction of the #8 BMW-Riley.

Driving duties for the prestigious ‘Rolex 24 at Daytona’ will be shared by Bill Lester (U.S.), Dion Von Moltke (U.S.), Casper Anderson (NL) and Mike Forest (CAN). From the second round, at the
Homestead-Miami Speedway in March, Lester will campaign the #7 BMW-Riley – his co-pilot to be confirmed post-Daytona, while the #8 BMW-Riley will be steered by Grand-Am Daytona
Prototype winner, Scotland’s Ryan Dalziel, alongside Mike Forest. (press release)

Social Media Auto Publish Powered By :