Speedcar Series storms Indonesia

Speedcar Series is in Indonesia for Round 2 of the Grand Racing events. The V8 620 bhp stockcars will be racing at the Sentul International Circuit on Saturday and Sunday, the 16th and 17th of February, 2008.

Approximately 100,000 spectators are expected this weekend to watch local heroes Ananda Mikola and Moreno Soeprapto. They will battle former F1 champs and other international racing talent to the finish line.

Sentul International Circuit is 3.97 kilometers long and located approximately 42 kilometers south of Jakarta. The longer corners on the track enable varied racing lines, and the 900m (2700 feet) start-finish straight ensures overtaking opportunities into turn one. Rain is expected over the weekend, adding another unpredictable element to the races this weekend.

The debut Speedcar Series race in Dubai on the 25th and 26th of January, featured tumultuous action that escalated on Race Day 2. Giannni Morbidelli won back to back races and will be the one to watch for the upcoming race weekend.

The drivers taking to the grid at the Sentul International Circuit are as follows:

Driver Car No. Country Team
Jean Alesi 27 France Speedcar Team
Uwe Alzen 08 Germany Phoenix Racing
Fabien Giroix 17 France First Centreville
Johnny Herbert 69 United Kingdom Speedcar Team
Stefan Johansson 07 Sweden Speedcar Team
Ukyo Katayama 06 Japan Speedcar Team
Mathias Lauda 21 Austria GPC Team
Klaus Ludwig 80 Germany Phoenix Racing
Hasher Al Maktoum 85 United Arab Emirates UP Team
Ananda Mikola 18 Indonesia Molitor Racing Systems
Gianni Morbidelli 10 Italy Speedcar Team
Nicolas Navarro 71 France First Centreville
Moreno Soeprapto 36 Indonesia Molitor Racing Systems
David Terrien 20 France UP Team

With 2 races over the weekend, Round 2 will be the first where points are counted towards the overall Speedcar Series title and 3 million US dollars in prize money. There will be 3 more races into the season of which Speedcar Series will feature as the support race to Formula One in Malaysia and Bahrain before ending on the 12th of April at the Dubai Autodrome.

Social Media Auto Publish Powered By : XYZScripts.com