Supercars: Whincup wins chaotic wet night race under red flag

Jamie Whincup has won a race for the history books in wet and wild conditions at the Armor All Sydney SuperSprint on Sunday evening.

In one of the most chaotic races ever recorded in the Repco Supercars Championship, the field showed why they are considered the best touring car drivers in the world by taming atrocious conditions.

Eventually the weather became too much and Stewards made the decision to end the race with all cars in pit lane under a red flag.

Before the result was decided, there was numerous crashes, spins, collisions and close calls as heavy rain fell at Sydney Motorsport Park, including a possible Championship-impacting incident involving Championship leader Shane van Gisbergen.

In conditions where drivers could barely see the car in front, the Red Bull ace skidded off the circuit at over 250 km/h.

He managed to keep the car off the fence and rejoined the rear of the field. As van Gisbergen made his way back through the field trying to capture as many points as possible, he copped a pit lane penalty for a dangerous release.

That mean he finished the night in 23rd position, and with Whincup winning it narrowed the Championship lead to 337 points.

Behind Whincup on the podium was Shell Ford’s Anton De Pasquale who won the earlier race on Sunday, and in third was Chaz Mostert.

Incredibly, Mostert started from last place on the grid due to pre-race penalty for and made his way through in the wet.

Mostert had qualified second for the ARMOR ALL Sydney SuperNight finale alongside Shane van Gisbergen. However, it was later revealed that the #25 Mobil 1 Appliances Online Commodore’s front bar was too wide.

His result could’ve been better had it continued as strategy had Mostert in a striking position before the red flag.

Three drivers; James Courtney Brodie Kostecki and Jake Kostecki all crashed into tyre walls but walked away unharmed.

The race will go down as one of the most memorable in Supercars’ history and sets the scenes for fireworks next week when Supercars return to Sydney Motorsport Park for the third event of the Beaurepaires Sydney Cup, the bp Ultimate Sydney SuperSprint.

Results: Race 25, Armor All Sydney SuperNight

Pos No. Team/Sponsor Driver Car Diff
1 88 Red Bull Ampol Racing Team Jamie Whincup Holden Commodore ZB +0.000s
2 11 Shell V-Power Racing Team Anton De Pasquale Ford Mustang GT +1.190
3 25 Mobil 1 Appliances Online Chaz Mostert Holden Commodore ZB +2.437
4 8 R&J Batteries Nick Percat Holden Commodore ZB +3.414
5 3 CoolDrive Racing Tim Slade Ford Mustang GT +4.520
6 9 Erebus Motorsport William Brown Holden Commodore ZB +5.262
7 17 Shell V-Power Racing Team Will Davison Ford Mustang GT +6.265
8 6 Monster Energy Racing Cameron Waters Ford Mustang GT +7.121
9 14 Dunlop Super Dealer Racing Todd Hazelwood Holden Commodore ZB +7.747
10 7 NED Whisky Racing Andre Heimgartner Ford Mustang GT +9.276
11 26 Penrite Racing Luke Youlden Ford Mustang GT +10.066
12 22 PremiAir Hire Garry Jacobson Holden Commodore ZB +10.478
13 35 Yellow Cover Racing Zane Goddard Holden Commodore ZB +11.310
14 5 Truck Assist Racing Jack Le Brocq Ford Mustang GT +13.147
15 18 IRWIN Racing Mark Winterbottom Holden Commodore ZB +13.969
16 55 Castrol Racing Thomas Randle Ford Mustang GT +14.695
17 4 SCT Logistics Jack Smith Holden Commodore ZB +15.752
18 20 DEWALT Racing Scott Pye Holden Commodore ZB +16.661
19 19 Local Legends Fabian Coulthard Holden Commodore ZB +17.531
20 96 Coca-Cola Racing Macauley Jones Holden Commodore ZB +18.639
21 27 Mobil 1 SP Tools Racing Kurt Kostecki Holden Commodore ZB +20.128
22 2 Mobil 1 Middy’s Racing Bryce Fullwood Holden Commodore ZB +21.814
23 97 Red Bull Ampol Racing Team Shane van Gisbergen Holden Commodore ZB +24.447
NC 34 UNIT Racing Jake Kostecki Holden Commodore ZB
NC 99 Erebus Boost Mobile Racing Brodie Kostecki Holden Commodore ZB
NC 44 Boost Mobile Racing James Courtney Ford Mustang GT
Social Media Auto Publish Powered By :