Supercars: De Pasquale tops first qualifying of 2022

Anton De Pasquale has picked up where he left off in Sydney with the fastest time in the first ARMOR ALL Qualifying session of the 2022 Repco Supercars Championship.

Last year’s ARMOR ALL Pole Champion Award winner was the class of the field in the 15-minute session.

Anton De Pasquale. Photo Courtesy of Supercars

The results of qualifying have determined which drivers will take part in the first ARMOR ALL Top Ten Shootout of 2022.

De Pasquale, was quickest ahead of his Shell Ford teammate, Will Davison while defending Supercars’ Champion Shane van Gisbergen claimed third.

The other drivers who will have the track all to themselves in the shootout this afternoon are Andre Heimgartner, Will Brown, Chaz Mostert, Brodie Kostecki, Tim Slade, David Reynolds and the rookie brought in to replace the great Jamie Whincup – Broc Feeney.

With the weight of expectation on his shoulders, Feeney showed he is the ready for the challenge, joining only a handful of drivers to make the shootout in their first solo Championship drive.

In the shock of the session, down the order was Cam Waters, who was only good enough for 22nd. All four Tickford Mustang drivers failed to reach the shootout.

Cam Waters. Photo courtesy of Supercars