Supercars: Van Gisbergen starts 2022 with a flawless victory

Defending Champion Shane van Gisbergen has issued an ominous warning to his Repco Supercars Championship rivals – that he is the driver to catch in 2022 with a flawless victory in the opening race of the year.

The #97 Red Bull ace used a different pit stop strategy to Anton De Pasquale and Chaz Mostert and it paid off for the 32-year-old kiwi who claimed the first win of the two-race Beaurepaires Sydney SuperNight.

Shane Van Gisbergen celebrates. Photo Courtesy of Supercars

It was the 55th win of van Gisbergen’s career, bringing him within one of Scott McLaughlin and Garth Tander, who sit equal fourth all-time.

The victory also came on van Gisbergen’s 450th career race start, some 15 years after his debut.

It was also a first victory for van Gisbergen with new engineer Andrew Edwards.

Anton De Pasquale, who started from pole position and led early finished second and Chaz Mostert finished third to fill the podium, the latter stealing third from rising star Will Brown in the closing laps.

Sydney Race 1 Start. Photo Courtesy of Supercars

“It’s a team win, I had no idea what was happening in the middle of the race,” van Gisbergen said.

“Awesome job by the team, and pretty lucky the weather held out.

“It’s a great way to start, but it’s a long year ahead.”

Van Gisbergen leads. Photo Courtesy of Supercars

Van Gisbergen’s teammate, rookie Broc Feeney who has replaced Jamie Whincup in the #88 Commodore finished ninth in his first career race as a Championship driver, after forcing his way into the Top Ten Shootout earlier in the day.

The rain held out for the entire race which changed strategy up and down pit lane.

Van Gisbergen’s victory was met with a dazzling fireworks display as the #97 crossed the finish line.

Sunday’s forecast is for rain which could play a key factor for a number of teams that missed the podium today.

Race Results 77 Laps

Pos Driver Car Behind
1 Shane van Gisbergen Holden Commodore ZB 0.000s
2 Anton De Pasquale Ford Mustang GT 19.558s
3 Chaz Mostert Holden Commodore ZB 31.053s
4 Will Davison Ford Mustang GT 37.500s
5 Brodie Kostecki Holden Commodore ZB 38.806s
6 Nick Percat Holden Commodore ZB 39.393s
7 Will Brown Holden Commodore ZB 41.113s
8 Tim Slade Ford Mustang GT 50.790s
9 Broc Feeney Holden Commodore ZB 52.477s
10 James Courtney Ford Mustang GT 54.523s
11 Cameron Waters Ford Mustang GT 1m03.149s
12 Bryce Fullwood Holden Commodore ZB 1m15.071s
13 Jack Le Brocq Holden Commodore ZB 1m21.630s
14 Todd Hazelwood Holden Commodore ZB 1m21.811s
15 Andre Heimgartner Holden Commodore ZB 1m27.045s
16 Mark Winterbottom Holden Commodore ZB
17 Jack Smith Holden Commodore ZB
18 Garry Jacobson Holden Commodore ZB
19 Jake Kostecki Ford Mustang GT
20 Thomas Randle Ford Mustang GT
21 Lee Holdsworth Ford Mustang GT
22 Macauley Jones Holden Commodore ZB
23 Chris Pither Holden Commodore ZB
24 David Reynolds Ford Mustang GT
DNF Scott Pye Holden Commodore ZB


Social Media Auto Publish Powered By :