Supercars: Van Gisbergen wins hostile opener in Tasmania

There was no love lost as drivers battled to the very last lap of in the opening race of the NED Whisky Tasmania SuperSprint.

In the end, it was defending Repco Supercars Champion Shane van Gisbergen who claimed the victory, after run-ins with fellow podium winners Cam Waters and Will Davison.

Supercars in Tasmania: Shane Van Gisbergen battles hard with Cam Waters. Photo courtesy of Supercars Series

The victory, the second of van Gisbergen’s 2022 campaign, means the #97 Red Bull Commodore ace has regained the points lead from Chaz Mostert.

It marked van Gisbergen’s 56th career victory, equalling Scott McLaughlin and Garth Tander.

Waters and van Gisbergen collided as they rounded the famous Symmons Plains hairpin corner, and as van Gisbergen took the race lead Waters responded with a middle finger salute to the defending Champion.

Van Gisbergen won the NED Whisky Tasmania SuperSprint opener from fifth on the grid.

Supercars in Tasmania: Shane Van Gisbergen. Photo courtesy of Supercars Series

With Chaz Mostert 23rd following a late-race incident, van Gisbergen will carry a 17-point lead into Sunday.

Will Davison crossed the line second ahead of pole man Cam Waters, with Brodie Kostecki fourth.

Broc Feeney secured a career-best finish with fifth ahead of Anton De Pasquale, who moved into second overall.

“What a great race,” van Gisbergen said.

“I was rubbing them up a bit, but that’s what we’re here to do.

“We need to be better tomorrow, but I’m super stoked.”

Mostert’s fate was sealed when the battle for eighth got ugly; Winterbottom turned Reynolds at Turn 4, leaving Mostert with nowhere to go.

Winterbottom was handed a 15-second penalty for the incident, with Mostert losing three laps in the pits.

Van Gisbergen crossed the line nearly three seconds ahead of Davison, who equalled legendary team boss Dick Johnson’s career podiums tally of 65.

Cars will return to the track on Sunday for dual qualifying sessions from 10:35am AEDT.

Race Results

1 97 Van Gisbergen Red Bull Holden Racing Team +0.000s
2 17 Davison Shell V-Power Racing Team +2.830
3 6 C. Waters Tickford Racing 1 +6.286
4 99 B. Kostecki Penrite Racing – Erebus +8.861
5 88 B. Feeney Red Bull Holden Racing Team +11.698
6 11 A. de Pasquale Shell V-Power Racing Team +13.742
7 20 S. Pye Team 18 +16.078
8 8 Heimgartner Brad Jones Racing +16.101
9 10 Holdsworth Penrite Racing +19.054
10 35 T. Hazelwood Matt Stone Racing +19.352
11 3 Slade CoolDrive Racing +19.563
12 5 Courtney Tickford Racing 1 +22.086
13 9 W. Brown Penrite Racing – Erebus +24.734
14 56 J. Kostecki Tickford Racing 2 +29.173
15 14 B. Fullwood Brad Jones Racing +35.089
16 76 G. Jacobson PremiAir Subway Racing +37.067
17 4 J. Smith SCT Motor Sports +40.026
18 18 Winterbottom Team 18 +43.784
19 96 M. Jones SCT Motor Sports +47.167
20 22 C. Pither PremiAir Coca Cola Racing +49.223
21 26 Reynolds Penrite Racing +50.747
22 55 T. Randle Tickford Racing 2 +1 Lap
23 25 Mostert WAU Racing Pty Ltd +3 Laps
24 2 Percat WAU Racing Pty Ltd +6 Laps
NC 34 J. Le Brocq Matt Stone Racing +10 Laps


Social Media Auto Publish Powered By :