F2: Lawson clinches his 3rd podium-in-row with victory in Jeddah Sprint

Carlin’s Liam Lawson kept his cool in an action-packed Sprint Race at Jeddah to take his first Formula 2 win of the season and his third consecutive podium finish. The New Zealander overcame three Safety Car restarts to win out over Hitech Grand Prix’s Jüri Vips and Van Amersfoort Racing’s Jake Hughes.

Starting from second, Hughes had gambled on the soft Pirellis and led for periods of the race before eventually yielding to Lawson and Vips, who were both on mediums.

Hughes hung on for third as Felipe Drugovich made up six places from 10th to fourth. Trident’s Calan Williams also led for a short portion of the afternoon but had fallen to fifth by the checkered flag after struggling for pace at the end.

Williams’ Trident teammate Richard Verschoor finished in sixth ahead of DAMS’ Ayumu Iwasa and Campos Racing’s Ralph Boschung.


Dennis Hauger had been promoted to reverse grid pole after Virtuosi Racing’s Jack Doohan was disqualified from Qualifying and the PREMA Racing driver gave an excellent demonstration on how to get away on the mediums.

Hughes’ reaction time wasn’t as quick as the Van Amersfoort Racing driver got bogged down from second on the soft tires and lost a place to Williams. An early Safety Car then brought a halt to the action after Amaury Cordeel lost control of his Van Amersfoort and collided with the wall.

3rd place for Jake Hughes

Fourteen laps remained when action resumed and Hauger launched back off into the lead, with Williams and Hughes in tow. Lawson managed to scamper ahead of Iwasa before a second Safety Car was required, this time because of a collision at the back between Doohan and Logan Sargeant.

As the Safety Car was called back out, Hauger went through the pitlane. Re-joining in 12th, the PREMA racing driver had been the only driver to do so and was later handed a 10s stop-and-go penalty for entering the pit lane when closed.

Hauger followed Bernd Mayländer into the pits on Lap 14 to serve his 10s stop-and-go penalty as Williams took up the lead of the race. But the Trident had Hughes for company and the Van Amersfoort racer sent it down the inside for P1.

Lawson followed Hughes through for second as Williams’ defensive efforts proved in vain. Meanwhile, Hauger had returned from the pits in last place.

Vips succeeded in an audacious double overtake of his teammate Marcus Armstrong and DAMS’ Iwasa for fourth, before reeling in Williams to steal the final podium spot.

Hughes was struggling on the mediums, and this allowed Lawson to easily pass him down the main straight for the lead. Now hanging on to second, Hughes had a three-second buffer between himself and Vips in third before another Safety Car closed the gap, this time after Armstrong had spun his Hitech on track and lost the engine.

Only one lap remained when racing resumed and Williams lost out again at the restart, dropping to fifth behind Drugovich, while Vips began to chase down Hughes. The Briton did his best to hang on, but the Hitech clawed his way in front during a drag race to the finish line.

Verschoor had mugged Iwasa for sixth during the restart, with Boschung taking the final points’ place behind them.

Saudi Arabia Sprint Race podium, for left, Vips, Lawson and Hughes

Winner’s Quote

“We managed to survive the first 70% of the race, and we were running in third during the second restart. I was able to grab the lead in the last couple of laps.

“The car was really, really fast, so a massive thank you to Carlin and everybody. Hopefully we can do something similar tomorrow.”


Lawson now leads the Drivers’ Championship on 34 points, with Vips in second on 27 and Pourchaire third with 25. Drugovich is fourth with 19 points, ahead of Boschung in fifth with 18.

In the Teams’ Championship, Carlin are first with 43 points, ahead of Hitech on 37 and ART on 25. MP Motorsport are fourth with 19 points and Campos fifth with 18.

Sprint Race Results

Pos No. Driver Team Laps Behind Gap
1 5 Liam Lawson Carlin 20 0.000 0.000
2 8 Jüri Vips HitechGP 20 3.166 3.166
3 24 Jake Hughes Van Amersfoort Racing 20 3.224 0.058
4 11 Felipe Drugovich MP Motorsport 20 4.846 1.622
5 21 Calan Williams Trident 20 6.277 1.431
6 20 Richard Verschoor Trident 20 12.121 5.844
7 17 Ayumu Iwasa Nissan e.Dams 20 13.520 1.399
8 15 Ralph Boschung Campos Racing 20 14.454 0.934
9 2 Jehan Daruvala Prema Powerteam 20 15.237 0.783
10 4 Marino Sato Virtuosi Racing 20 16.040 0.803
11 16 Roy Nissany Nissan e.Dams 20 17.390 1.350
12 22 Enzo Fittipaldi Charouz Racing System 20 17.441 0.051
13 12 Clement Novalak MP Motorsport 20 18.739 1.298
14 9 Frederik Vesti ART Grand Prix 20 20.298 1.559
15 10 Theo Pourchaire ART Grand Prix 20 20.569 0.271
16 14 Olli Caldwell Campos Racing 20 25.495 4.926
17 1 Dennis Hauger Prema Powerteam 20 51.495 26.000
DNF 7 Marcus Armstrong HitechGP 17  –
DNF 6 Logan Sargeant Carlin 5  –  –
DNF 3 Jack Doohan Virtuosi Racing 5  –  –
DNF 25 Amaury Cordeel Van Amersfoort Racing 1  –  –


Social Media Auto Publish Powered By : XYZScripts.com