F1: Verstappen leads Leclerc in final Monza practice

Before a packed house at Monza, championship point leader Max Verstappen turned the fastest lap in final practice for the Italian GP with a lap of 1m21.252s.

Verstappen has to take a 5-place grid penalty because he took a new internal combustion engine for this race, but appears to have the speed to win anyway.

Charles Leclerc was 2nd quick in the #16 Ferrari, 0.347s behind the Dutchman.

Charles Leclerc. credit: @Scuderia Ferrari Press Office

Sergio Perez turned a fast lap late to slot in 3rd quick, 0.596s behind his teammate.

#11 Sergio Perez, Red Bull Racing, Honda during the Italian GP, 8-11 September 2022 at Monza track, Formula 1 World championship 2022.

Carlos Sainz Jr. was 4th in the #55 Ferrari, 0.645s behind, while Fernando Alonso rounded out the top-5 for Alpine.

So after yesterday was the Ferrari show, today was all about the Red Bull of Max Verstappen. The Dutchman finished an impressive 0.347s ahead of Leclerc out there, and would be favorite for pole if he didn’t have grid penalties this weekend.

Mick Schumacher has had to take another gearbox and as such, is another driver with a grid drop. That makes nine drivers so far.

The big news from FP3 through was the fact that de Vries is driving for Williams for the rest of the weekend after Albon was diagnosed with appendicitis earlier today. It’s his first full f1 weekend, and he’s about to head into his first F1 qualifying session.

Practice 3 Results

1 1 Max Verstappen Red Bull Racing Honda 1:21.252 +0.000s 19
2 16 Charles Leclerc Ferrari 1:21.599 +0.347s 14
3 11 Sergio Perez Red Bull Racing Honda 1:21.848 +0.596s 25
4 55 Carlos Sainz Ferrari 1:21.897 +0.645s 16
5 14 Fernando Alonso Alpine Renault 1:22.306 +1.054s 17
6 4 Lando Norris Mclaren Mercedes 1:22.319 +1.067s 18
7 63 George Russell Mercedes 1:22.357 +1.105s 24
8 22 Yuki Tsunoda Alphatauri Honda 1:22.430 +1.178s 27
9 31 Esteban Ocon Alpine Renault 1:22.506 +1.254s 17
10 44 Lewis Hamilton Mercedes 1:22.567 +1.315s 21
11 24 Zhou Guanyu Alfa Romeo Ferrari 1:22.657 +1.405s 13
12 10 Pierre Gasly Alphatauri Honda 1:22.755 +1.503s 21
13 6 Nicholas Latifi Williams Mercedes 1:22.776 +1.524s 18
14 45 Nyck De Vries Williams Mercedes 1:22.869 +1.617s 21
15 3 Daniel Ricciardo Mclaren Mercedes 1:22.871 +1.619s 19
16 77 Valtteri Bottas Alfa Romeo Ferrari 1:22.950 +1.698s 26
17 5 Sebastian Vettel Aston Martin Aramco Mercedes 1:23.104 +1.852s 20
18 20 Kevin Magnussen Haas Ferrari 1:23.203 +1.951s 16
19 47 Mick Schumacher Haas Ferrari 1:23.392 +2.140s 7
20 18 Lance Stroll Aston Martin Aramco Mercedes 1:23.739 +2.487s 16