Monaco Thursday - Victor Martins Rain

Formula News 2: Martins tops rain-hit Thursday Practice

Victor Martins made a quick start to the Monte Carlo weekend by setting the fastest time in a rain-affected Practice session. The ART Grand Prix driver’s lap of 1:39.237 lead the field ahead of Richard Verschoor and Dennis Hauger.

Heavy rain hit the track just before the start of the session, meaning drivers headed out onto a damp circuit. This made for tricky running with Enzo Fittipaldi the first to have a close call with the barrier at the hairpin section, although he was able keep his Van Amersfoort Racing car going.

As conditions improved and the drivers gained more confidence in the wet, the fastest time changed hands multiple times. But after 10 minutes of running, Martins led an ART 1-2, his time of 1:40.531 put him half a second clear of Zak O’Sullivan.

Martins continued to set the pace and once again lowered the benchmark time to a 1:39.237. Trident’s Verschoor followed him across the line to go up to P2, albeit nine-tenths behind.

But Red Flags were waved shortly afterwards with Franco Colapinto stationary in his MP Motorsport car after contact with the barrier at La Rascasse.

The action resumed with 20 minutes to go, and Dennis Hauger was the next driver to improve, moving up to second, six-tenths off Martins’ leading time.

The rain began to worsen as the session entered into the final 10 minutes leading the teams to bring their cars back into the pitlane.

It meant there was no change in the leaderboard with Martins ending up fastest ahead of Hauger and Verschoor. Isack Hadjar was fourth for Campos Racing while O’Sullivan rounded out the top five for ART.

Thursday Practice Times

Pos Driver Team Time Behind Laps
1 Victor Martins ART Grand Prix 1m39.237s +0.000s 18
2 Dennis Hauger MP Motorsport 1m39.838s +0.601s 18
3 Richard Verschoor Trident 1m40.138s +0.901s 16
4 Isack Hadjar Campos Racing 1m40.611s +1.374s 13
5 Zak O’Sullivan ART Grand Prix 1m40.746s +1.509s 20
6 Taylor Barnard AIX Racing 1m40.875s +1.638s 20
7 Franco Colapinto MP Motorsport 1m40.964s +1.727s 9
8 Andrea Kimi Antonelli Prema 1m41.381s +2.144s 19
9 Paul Aron Hitech GP 1m41.682s +2.445s 19
10 Jak Crawford DAMS 1m41.735s +2.498s 19
11 Kush Maini Virtuosi Racing 1m41.771s +2.534s 19
12 Juan Manuel Correa DAMS 1m42.001s +2.764s 19
13 Pepe Marti Campos Racing 1m42.050s +2.813s 18
14 Roman Stanek Trident 1m42.191s +2.954s 16
15 Ollie Bearman Prema 1m434393s +4.256s 16
16 Rafael Villagomez Van Amersfoort Racing 1m43.620s +4.383s 17
17 Zane Maloney Rodin Motorsport 1m43.946s +4.709s 19
18 Gabriel Bortoleto Virtuosi Racing 1m44.935s +5.698s 19
19 Amaury Cordeel Hitech GP 1m45.884s +6.647s 17
20 Ritomo Miyata Rodin Motorsport 1m46.904s +7.667s 20
21 Enzo Fittipaldi Van Amersfoort Racing 1m46.991s +7.754s 16
22 Joshua Duerksen AIX Racing 1m47.442s +8.205s 5
Social Media Auto Publish Powered By :