Francesco Bagnaia

MotoGP News: Francesco Bagnaia wins pole at Assen

Francesco Bagnaia (Ducati Lenovo Team) has secured an unbelievable first pole position of the year after destroying the previous lap record. The Italian continues his perfect weekend at the Motul TT Assen after pulling off a magical 1:30.540 on his second run.

However, Bagnaia did not have it easy as the Italian was kept honest by Jorge Martin (Prima Pramac Racing), who gave it everything on his final lap of the session – missing out by a mere 0.081s.

Joining the title rivals on the front row will be Maverick Viñales (Aprilia Racing) after using a fresh set of soft tires to cap off a brilliant qualifying at Assen.

It was a thrilling Q1 with an abundance of talent fighting for the final two spots up for grabs in Q2. It was a frantic end to the session with Pedro Acosta (Red Bull GASGAS Tech3) topping Q1 before crashing on his final lap.

Acosta was joined in Q2 by Fabio Di Giannantonio (Pertamina Enduro VR46 Racing Team), who looked strong throughout the entire session. Once Q2 got underway the lap record fell instantly as Bagnaia hit the top before Martin responded seconds later to set a 1:30.877.

In the closing stages, Bagnaia gave it everything on his second row and would cross the line to create history after setting a 1:30.540. This gave the #1 a gap of over three tenths with Di Giannantonio slotting into third position. The drama would continue into the final minute with Marc Marquez (Gresini Racing MotoGP™) now becoming the latest rider to crash at turn 7.

Back on the second row of the grid was the late-charging Alex Marquez (Gresini Racing MotoGP), who found a heap of the time on a last fast lap to place fourth. The #73 was ahead of Aprilia Racing’s Aleix Espargaro, who will start from a strong fifth on the grid after an eventful qualifying. Di Giannantonio rounds off an impressive second row after the Italian was fast straight out of the pit box.

Marc Marquez is forced to start from seventh on the grid after a late crash put an end to the #93’s qualifying with work to do in the Sprint and on Sunday. The eight-time World Champion will start alongside Franco Morbidelli who caps off a great morning for the Prima Pramac Racing squad in eighth, ahead of Brad Binder (Red Bull KTM Factory Racing). The South African will round off the third row, less than one second adrift from pole position.

MotoGP Assen Qualifying Results

Pos Rider Nat Team Behind
1 Francesco Bagnaia ITA Ducati Lenovo (GP24) +0.000s
2 Jorge Martin SPA Pramac Ducati (GP24) +0.081s
3 Maverick Viñales SPA Aprilia Racing (RS-GP24) +0.411s
4 Alex Marquez SPA Gresini Ducati (GP23) +0.439s
5 Aleix Espargaro SPA Aprilia Racing (RS-GP24) +0.537s
6 Fabio Di Giannantonio ITA VR46 Ducati (GP23) +0.734s
7 Marc Marquez SPA Gresini Ducati (GP23) +0.838s
8 Franco Morbidelli ITA Pramac Ducati (GP24) +0.865s
9 Brad Binder RSA Red Bull KTM (RC16) +0.939s
10 Pedro Acosta SPA Red Bull GASGAS Tech3 (RC16)* +0.942s
11 Enea Bastianini ITA Ducati Lenovo (GP24) +1.088s
12 Raul Fernandez SPA Trackhouse Aprilia (RS-GP23) +1.388s
Qualifying 1:
13 Fabio Quartararo FRA Monster Yamaha (YZR-M1) 1’31.62s
14 Jack Miller AUS Red Bull KTM (RC16) 1’31.903s
15 Marco Bezzecchi ITA VR46 Ducati (GP23) 1’31.997s
16 Alex Rins SPA Monster Yamaha (YZR-M1) 1’32.108s
17 Miguel Oliveira POR Trackhouse Aprilia (RS-GP24) 1’32.123s
18 Lorenzo Savadori ITA Aprilia Racing (RS-GP24) 1’32.243s
19 Johann Zarco FRA LCR Honda (RC213V) 1’32.26s
20 Joan Mir SPA Repsol Honda (RC213V) 1’32.497s
21 Luca Marini ITA Repsol Honda (RC213V) 1’32.627s
22 Augusto Fernandez SPA Red Bull GASGAS Tech3 (RC16) 1’32.669s
23 Takaaki Nakagami JPN LCR Honda (RC213V) 1’33.03s

* Rookie

Social Media Auto Publish Powered By :