Dixon Pockets $1 Million Bonus

Scott Dixon and Team Owner Chip Ganassi

Less than 24 hours after claiming the fourth Verizon IndyCar Series championship of his career, Scott Dixon was officially minted as the 2015 series champion.

Dixon, who won the 2015 crown with a come-from-behind win at the GoPro Grand Prix of Sonoma on Aug. 30, was honored along with other drivers, teams and manufacturers during the Verizon IndyCar Series Championship Celebration at the Nob Hill Masonic Center in downtown San Francisco.

Mark Miles, CEO of Hulman & Co., parent of INDYCAR and the Indianapolis Motor Speedway, presented Dixon and team owner Chip Ganassi with a $1 million championship bonus check and replicas of the Astor Challenge Cup, the Verizon IndyCar Series' championship trophy.

"I'm fortunate to drive in INDYCAR and with this team for 14 years," Dixon said. "With the depth of the competition, winning a championship in INDYCAR is challenging and gratifying. It's all the small pieces that you have to get out of the car, and this year especially with the introduction of the aero kits. As a team, I think we really do a good job. I couldn't be prouder of the whole team's efforts."

In addition to the championship bonus, Dixon accepted the Jostens Champions Award, a ring valued at $10,000. He also won the Sunoco Diamond Performance Award and its $75,000 prize for winning the most races.

Blair Julian, chief mechanic for Dixon's No. 9 Target Chip Ganassi Racing Chevrolet, accepted the Verizon IndyCar Series Chief Mechanic of the Year Award. Scott Harner and Barry Wanser accepted the Team Manager of the Year Award.

Jim Campbell (R) accepts the manufacturer award for Chevy
Jim Campbell (R) accepts the manufacturer award for Chevy

Gabby Chaves of BHA with Curb-Agajanian accepted the $50,000 Verizon IndyCar Series Sunoco Rookie of the Year Award, Graham Rahal claimed the $25,000 TAG Heuer "Don't Crack Under Pressure Award" for advancing the most cumulative places during the season. Will Power won the Verizon P1 Award for scoring the most points among pole winners, Ryan Hunter-Reay claimed the "Drive to the Finish" Award and the late Justin Wilson was voted favorite driver by Verizon IndyCar Series fans.

Jim Campbell, Chevrolet's vice president of performance vehicles and motorsports, accepted the manufacturer's award on behalf of Chevrolet.

Juan Pablo Montoya of Team Penske was honored as the second-place finisher in the championship while his teammate Power was honored for finishing third.

Justin Wilson tribute
Justin Wilson tribute

Verizon IndyCar Series award winners:

Championship driver (Astor Challenge Cup): Scott Dixon, Chip Ganassi Racing Teams
Jostens Championship Driver Award (ring): Dixon
Championship team (Astor Challenge Cup): Chip Ganassi Racing Teams
Championship team sponsor: Target
Championship team manager: Scott Harner and Barry Wanser, Chip Ganassi Racing Teams
Chief Mechanic of the Year Award: Blair Julian, Chip Ganassi Racing Teams
Sunoco Diamond Performance Award ($75,000): Dixon
Sunoco Rookie of the Year Award ($50,000): Gabby Chaves, BHA with Curb-Agajanian
TAG Heuer "Don't Crack Under Pressure" Award ($25,000): Graham Rahal, Rahal Letterman Lanigan
"Drive to the Finish" Award: Ryan Hunter-Reay, Andretti Autosport
Verizon P1 Award: Will Power, Team Penske

Tied for first, but 2nd on tie-breaker, Juan Montoya and his family
Tied for first, but 2nd on tie-breaker, Juan Montoya and his family

Second place championship driver: Juan Pablo Montoya, Team Penske
Second place championship team: Team Penske
Third place championship driver: Power
Third place championship team: Team Penske
Manufacturers Championship: Chevrolet
Dan and Susie Wheldon "Make a Difference" Award ($1,000 charitable donation): Denise Titus, INDYCAR Medical
Verizon IndyCar Series Fan Favorite Driver: Justin Wilson, Andretti Autosport

Social Media Auto Publish Powered By : XYZScripts.com