Practice 2 cut short ahead of Qualifying, Rowland fastest

Oliver Rowland
Oliver Rowland

Following a smooth first Practice session in the morning, the second session of the day saw two Red Flags, which ultimately brought the session to a close early. Despite the disruption on track, it was Nissan e.dams's Oliver Rowland who went fastest as one of the few drivers who completed a full power lap (1:04.799). Behind the Brit was Rokit Venturi Racing's Felipe Massa with a time of 1:04.930 and Panasonic Jaguar Racing's Mitch Evans with a time of 1:05.046.

Despite many of the drivers being unable to complete a full power lap, 13 cars finished within a second of each other around the Parque O'Higgins circuit.

Halfway through the session, the Red Flag came out after debris was cleared from the track from Brendon Hartley's (Geox Dragon) car. Just minutes later, the Red Flag returned as NIO 333 driver Ma Quinghua collided with the wall, damaging the front diffuser. Stranded, the Chinese driver and his car were rescued and returned to the pits.

With less than a minute left, the session ended with seconds on the clock leaving many drivers unable to complete a full power lap on the new track layout ahead of Qualifying.

Practice 2 Times

1 Oliver Rowland e.dams Nissan 1m04.799s 0.000s 15
2 Felipe Massa Venturi Mercedes 1m04.930s 0.131s 12
3 Mitch Evans Jaguar Jaguar 1m05.046s 0.247s 8
4 Max Guenther BMW BMW 1m05.120s 0.321s 11
5 Andre Lotterer Porsche Porsche 1m05.257s 0.458s 11
6 Antonio Felix da Costa DS Techeetah DS 1m05.280s 0.481s 12
7 Edoardo Mortara Venturi Mercedes 1m05.327s 0.528s 12
8 Oliver Turvey NIO NIO 1m05.398s 0.599s 12
9 Daniel Abt Audi Audi 1m05.469s 0.670s 12
10 Brendon Hartley Dragon Penske 1m05.540s 0.741s 9
11 Nyck de Vries Mercedes Mercedes 1m05.586s 0.787s 14
12 Pascal Wehrlein Mahindra Mahindra 1m05.598s 0.799s 13
13 James Calado Jaguar Jaguar 1m05.634s 0.835s 10
14 Stoffel Vandoorne Mercedes Mercedes 1m05.899s 1.100s 11
15 Jean-Eric Vergne DS Techeetah DS 1m06.258s 1.459s 10
16 Lucas di Grassi Audi Audi 1m06.283s 1.484s 8
17 Alexander Sims BMW BMW 1m06.349s 1.550s 11
18 Jerome d'Ambrosio Mahindra Mahindra 1m06.368s 1.569s 11
19 Nico Muller Dragon Penske 1m06.660s 1.861s 9
20 Robin Frijns Virgin Audi 1m06.857s 2.058s 6
21 Sebastien Buemi e.dams Nissan 1m06.904s 2.105s 13
22 Sam Bird Virgin Audi 1m07.007s 2.208s 9
23 Neel Jani Porsche Porsche 1m07.056s 2.257s 11
24 Ma Qinghua NIO NIO 1m08.364s 3.565s 10

Social Media Auto Publish Powered By :