Marty Reid to anchor IRL TV broadcasts

Veteran ESPN motorsports commentator Marty Reid will lead the network’s coverage of the IndyCar Series and Indianapolis 500 in 2007, his second season as lead announcer. The season will begin with a live primetime telecast from Homestead-Miami Speedway on Saturday night, March 24, at 8 p.m. ET on ESPN2.

Booth analyst Scott Goodyear and pit reporter Jack Arute will also return to the coverage team this season, with pit reporter Vince Welch returning to a fulltime role after working selected races the past two seasons. Joining the team as pit reporter will be Indianapolis native Brienne Pedigo.

ESPN, ESPN2 and ESPN on ABC will have coverage of all 17 events on the IndyCar Series schedule, and ABC will cover the Indianapolis 500 for the 43rd year on May 27, extending the second-longest relationship in television history between a sporting event and television network.

Goodyear, who has been analyst for the IndyCar Series on ESPN and ABC since 2002, will join Reid in the booth for all telecasts this season, while Arute, who has worked auto racing telecasts and other sports for ESPN and ABC since 1984, will lead the pit reporter team. Welch has covered races on both radio and TV for the IndyCar Series since its formation in 1996.

Pedigo will be in her first year as a member of the IndyCar Series team for ESPN and ABC. Her sports television experience includes working as a pit reporter for The Outdoor Channel’s telecasts of USAC sprint and midget car racing as well as a reporter for CBS Sports’ coverage of the NCAA Final Four. She also worked as a segment writer for ESPN’s coverage of professional bowling. An actress, singer and dancer, Pedigo grew up in a racing and sports-oriented family and has been performing since the age of two.

Rusty Wallace, who was an analyst last season with Goodyear, and pit reporter Jamie Little, both working on ESPN’s NASCAR coverage this season, will re-join the IndyCar Series team for the Indianapolis 500.

The races will be produced for ESPN by Shawn Murphy, Neil Goldberg and Rich O’Connor. Patrick McManus will direct the telecasts all season. ESPN PR

Social Media Auto Publish Powered By :