ELMS: Hanson and Albuquerque Win 2020 Title in Style at Monza


Phil Hanson lined up on pole position for the fourth time this season in the #22, while Will lined up in fifth in the #32. It had rained overnight, meaning race control declared the track wet and the team had to decide which tires to go on. Both our cars went on intermediate tires.

After a hectic start, Phil was forced to take avoiding action, driving over the curb and into the gravel, but continued, albeit at the back of the pack. Will made a great start, moving up to fourth until the safety car was called out to rescue the beached G-Drive car at the first chicane.

As the track began to dry, both Phil and Will were struggling on the intermediate tires, so with just 19 minutes gone, Phil pitted to change to slicks and to change the rear tail after damage caused at the first corner. A lap later, Will pitted the #32 for slicks and fuel and headed back out again.

Phil quickly got back into his stride setting fastest lap after fastest lap as he began making his way back through the pack. As pit stops began to cycle through, Will and Phil were leading the pack.

With two hours and 30 minutes remaining, Phil pitted the #22 from second to hand the car over to Filipe Albuquerque, while Will pitted the #32 and handed the car over to Job van Uitert, both drivers returning to the track under FCY conditions.

With just over an hour remaining, Filipe pitted and handed the #22 back to Phil Hanson, who brought the car home to take their third ELMS win of 2020 and their 10th as a pairing. A lap later, Job pitted the #32 from P2 and handed the car over to Alex Brundle, who battled back to close the gap to the #22 to just 3.057 seconds at the line.

Overnight rain and colder temperatures had made the track surface a little tricky and the teams had to decide to fit slick or intermediate tires.

LMP3: Inter Europol Competition Return to the Top Step in Monza

At the end of a drama filled 4 Hours of Monza, the No. 13 Inter Europol Competition Ligier-Nissan returned to the top step of the ELMS podium for the first time since Barcelona 2019. Martin Hippe and DiNo. Lunardi secured the victory, which puts the team back in contention for the LMP3 title at Portimão on the 1st November.

The No. 2 United Autosports Ligier of Rob Wheldon got a good start from pole position to end the opening lap of the 4 Hours of Monza in the lead, with the No. 9 Graff Ligier of ArNo. ld Robin getting a good run from 8th on the LMP3 grid to move up to second place. The No. 15 RLR MSport Ligier of James Dayson, which had started in second place, dropped down the order after a spin on lap one.

LMGTE: Kessel Racing and Proton Competition Go Head to Head in Monza

After the first three races of the 2020 European Le Mans Series the No. 77 Proton Competition Porsche and the No. 74 Kessel Racing Ferrari were level on points at the top of the championship. The 4 Hours of Monza saw the two contenders go head to head with the No. 74 Ferrari of Michael Broniszewski, Nicola Cadei and David Perel come out on top ahead of their rivals.

Claudio Schiavoni took the start in the No. 60 Iron Lynx Ferrari, the Italian at the head of the LMGTE field after Andrea Piccini had claimed the Italian team’s first ELMS pole position in qualifying.


Pos. No. Drivers Car Laps Behind Gap
1 22 Philip Hanson/Filipe Albuquerque Oreca 07 135 0.000s 0.000s
2 32 Will Owen/Alex Brundle/Job Van Uitert Oreca 07 135 3.057 3.057
3 27 Henrik Hedman/Ben Hanley/Charles Milesi Oreca 07 135 55.749 52.692
4 20 Anders Fjordbach/Dennis Andersen Oreca 07 135 56.249 0.500
5 37 Nicolas Lapierre/Antonin Borga/Alexandre Coigny Oreca 07 135 1m16.462 20.213
6 31 Julien Canal/Nico Jamin/Will Stevens Oreca 07 135 1m29.410 12.948s
7 28 Paul Lafargue/Paul-Loup Chatin/Richard Bradley Oreca 07 135 1m36.785 6.939s
8 30 Tristan Gommendy/Jonathan Hirschi/Konstantin Tereshchenko Oreca 07 134 1 Lap 1 Lap
9 24 Henning Enqvist/Jon Lancaster/Arjun Maini Oreca 07 134 1 Lap 1 Lap
10 39 James Allen/Thomas Laurent/Alexandre Cougnaud Oreca 07 134 1 Lap 6.722
11 50 Tatiana Calderon/Sophia Flörsch/Beitske Visser Oreca 07 134 1 Lap 2.541
12 25 John Falb/Simon Trummer/Gabriel Aubry Oreca 07 134 1 Lap 17.718
13 34 Jakub Smiechowski/Rene Binder/Matevos Isaakyan Ligier JSP217 132 3 Laps 2 Laps
14 35 Francesco Dracone/Sergio Campana Oreca 07 132 3 Laps 5.547
15 13 Nigel Moore/Martin Hippe Ligier JS P320 125 10 Laps 7 Laps
16 11 Niko Kari/Nicolas Maulini/Jacopo Baratto Ligier JS P320 125 10 Laps 20.306
17 2 Wayne Boyd/Tom Gamble/Robert Wheldon Ligier JS P320 125 10 Laps 0.062
18 8 Esteban Garcia/David Droux Ligier JS P320 124 11 Laps 1 Lap
19 9 Vincent Capillaire/ArNo. ld Robin/Maxime Robin Ligier JS P320 124 11 Laps 31.513
20 10 Rob Hodes/Garett Grist/Charles Crews Duqueine M30 – D08 124 11 Laps 1.570
21 4 Laurents Hörr/Francois Kirmann/Wolfgang Triller Duqueine M30 – D08 124 11 Laps 0.765
22 74 Michael Broniszewski/David Perel/Nicola Cadei Ferrari 488 GTE EVO 124 11 Laps 5.669
23 77 Christian Ried/Michele Beretta/Alessio Picariello Porsche 911 RSR 123 12 Laps 1 Lap
24 83 Manuela Gostner/Michelle Gatting/Rahel Frey Ferrari 488 GTE EVO 123 12 Laps 56.146
25 55 Duncan Cameron/Matthew Griffin/Aaron Scott Ferrari 488 GTE EVO 123 12 Laps 4.793
26 7 Tony Wells/Colin No. ble Jr. Duqueine M30 – D08 123 12 Laps 32.729
27 93 Michael Fassbender/Felipe Fernández Laser/Richard Lietz Porsche 911 RSR 122 13 Laps 1 Lap
28 15 Malthe Jakobsen/James Dayson/Gustas Grinbergas Ligier JS P320 122 13 Laps 22.107
29 66 Gunnar Jeannette/Rodrigo Sales/Finlay Hutchison Ferrari 488 GTE EVO 122 13 Laps 1’14.263
30 16 Lorenzo Veglia/Tom Cloet/Philippe Paillot Ligier JS P320 121 14 Laps 1 Lap
31 3 Duncan Tappy/Andrew Bentley/James McGuire Ligier JS P320 121 14 Laps 17.336
32 5 Eric Trouillet/Luis Sanjuan/Sebastien Page Duqueine M30 – D08 99 36 Laps 22 Laps
dnf 26 Roman RusiNo. v/Mikkel Jensen/Jean-Eric Vergne Aurus 01 51 84 Laps 48 Laps
dnf 60 Claudio Schiavoni/RiNo. Mastronardi/Nicklas Nielsen Ferrari 488 GTE EVO 28 107 Laps 23 Laps
Social Media Auto Publish Powered By : XYZScripts.com