Supercars: Van Gisbergen claims Bathurst Triple Crown

Shane van Gisbergen has carried his winning form into production cars with victory in the Bathurst 6 Hour.

The Red Bull Ampol Racing driver combined with Shane Smollen and Rob Rubis to claim the win aboard a Class X BMW M4.

The win helped van Gisbergen become just the second driver, after Paul Morris, to win all three major endurance races at Mount Panorama.

Van Gisbergen claimed a maiden Bathurst 1000 victory alongside Garth Tander last October, four years after he won the Bathurst 12 Hour, a day after he also broke the lap record around the circuit.

The 2016 Supercars champion also defeated Tander and Supercars rival Chaz Mostert in the opening Fanatec GT World Challenge Australia Powered by AWS on Saturday, before being pipped by Tander on Sunday morning.

The current Repco Supercars Championship leader claimed pole for Sunday’s six-hour race, but was forced to overcome a five-second time penalty in the final stint.

Five seconds were added to the #97 BMW’s race time following a restart breach, but van Gisbergen crossed the line nearly 13 seconds clear of the #1 Tim Leahey/Beric Lynton BMW M3.

Another of van Gisbergen’s fellow Supercars drivers, Tim Slade, finished fourth overall alongside Bradley Carr, with their #8 BMW M3 missing out on victory after a number of issues in the race.

Sunday’s result marked another key success for van Gisbergen, who is continuing his recovery from a broken collarbone sustained early last month.

Just over two months ago, he took victory in the New Zealand Grand Prix at Hampton Downs.

“Just gotta thank the team; it’s awesome to be part of this team,” van Gisbergen told the broadcast.

“What an awesome day. It was a bit tricky in the beginning; we thought we were losing, but we just took the pain in the CPS early.

“It worked out great, and we knew we had to pull a five-second gap, I had to push like anything through the traffic.

“I’ll be sore tomorrow, but it’s well worth it.”

Race Results

1 97 Van Gisbergen Red Bull Holden Racing Team 48:18.184
2 99 B. Kostecki Penrite Racing – Erebus +14.813
3 26 Reynolds Nissan Motorsport +23.042
4 88 Whincup Red Bull Holden Racing Team +29.813
5 17 Davison Shell V-Power Racing Team +31.107
6 6 C. Waters Monster Energy Racing +40.304
7 9 W. Brown Erebus Motorsport +42.865
8 14 T. Hazelwood Brad Jones Racing +45.957
9 8 Percat Brad Jones Racing +46.383
10 18 Winterbottom Team 18 +50.591
11 7 Heimgartner Nissan Motorsport +53.011
12 11 A. de Pasquale Shell V-Power Racing Team +55.259
13 2 B. Fullwood WAU Racing Pty Ltd +56.604
14 34 J. Kostecki Matt Stone Racing +57.414
15 44 Courtney Boost Mobile Racing +58.650
16 5 J. Le Brocq Truck Assist Racing +1:07.269
17 3 Slade CoolDrive Racing +1 Lap
18 96 M. Jones SCT Motor Sports +1 Lap
19 22 G. Jacobson Team SYDNEY – Tekno +1 Lap
20 19 Coulthard Team SYDNEY – Tekno +1 Lap
21 35 Z. Goddard Matt Stone Racing +1 Lap
22 20 S. Pye Team 18 +1 Lap
23 4 J. Smith SCT Motor Sports +1 Lap
24 25 Mostert WAU Racing Pty Ltd +7 Laps
Social Media Auto Publish Powered By :