F1: Hamilton over Verstappen in Practice 3

Lewis Hamilton has turned the table on Friday fast-man Max Verstappen at his team’s home track by going fastest in final practice for the Styrian GP at the Red Bull Ring.

Hamilton’ lap of 1m04.369s in his #44 Mercedes was 0.204s faster than the best Verstappen could manage in his #33 Red Bull Honda.

Valtteri Bottas was 3rd in his #77 Mercedes 0.463s behind his teammate.

Clearly the battle for pole will only be between Hamilton and Verstappen. Bottas will want the highest grid slot possible, given he is carrying that three-place penalty drop.

Sergio Perez was 4th in the 2nd Red Bull Honda, 0.657s back, while rookie Yuki Tsunoda beat his Alpha Tauri teammate Pierre Gasly – 5th and 6th respectively.

Charles Leclerc, Fernando Alonso, Lance Stroll and Sebastian Vettel rounded out the top-10.

Aston Martin also had both cars in the top 10 – something they haven’t managed once this year in qualifying. They seem well placed to push on from their double points finish last time out, with little to choose between their two drivers.

One team very much at the wrong end of the timing sheet were McLaren. Lando Norris had a lap time deleted, Daniel Ricciardo aborted his flying effort, and they wound up with the youngster in P19 and the Honey Badger only just ahead in 17th.

Practice 3 Results

1 Lewis Hamilton GBR Mercedes AMG Petronas 1m04.369s
2 Max Verstappen NED Red Bull Racing 1m04.573s
3 Valtteri Bottas FIN Mercedes AMG Petronas 1m04.832s
4 Sergio Perez MEX Red Bull Racing 1m05.026s
5 Yuki Tsunoda JPN Scuderia AlphaTauri Honda 1m05.150s
6 Pierre Gasly FRA Scuderia AlphaTauri Honda 1m05.298s
7 Charles Leclerc MON Scuderia Ferrari Mission Winnow 1m05.340s
8 Fernando Alonso ESP Alpine F1 Team 1m05.400s
9 Lance Stroll CAN Aston Martin Cognizant 1m05.445s
10 Sebastian Vettel GER Aston Martin Cognizant 1m05.492s.
11 Antonio Giovinazzi ITA Alfa Romeo Racing Orlen 1m05.556s
12 Esteban Ocon FRA Alpine F1 Team 1m05.676s
13 Carlos Sainz ESP Scuderia Ferrari Mission Winnow 1m05.698s
14 George Russell GBR Williams Racing 1m05.863s
15 Kimi Raikkonen FIN Alfa Romeo Racing Orlen 1m05.942s
16 Mick Schumacher GER Uralkali Haas F1 Team 1m05.992s
17 Daniel Ricciardo AUS McLaren F1 Team 1m06.116s
18 Nicholas Latifi CAN Williams Racing 1m06.119s
19 Lando Norris GBR McLaren F1 Team 1m06.654s
20 Nikita Mazepin RUS Uralkali Haas F1 Team 1m06.692s
Social Media Auto Publish Powered By : XYZScripts.com