Chili Bowl 2022 TV channel, entry list (NASCAR and IndyCar drivers entered)

The 2022 Lucas Oil Chili Bowl Nationals presented by General Tire are here. In other words, it’s time for the Super Bowl of midget racing.

Contested annually on the quarter-mile dirt oval known as Tulsa Expo Raceway inside the SageNet Center at Tulsa’s Expo Square in Oklahoma, the Chili Bowl is the hottest auto race in the cold of winter. The event’s prestige has only grown since its inception in 1987.

The 2022 Chili Bowl marks the 36th running of a race that has been dominated by NASCAR national series drivers over the last several years.

Kyle Larson, the 2021 NASCAR Cup Series champion, will look for his third consecutive Chili Bowl A-Main win in 2022; he won the main event in both 2020 and 2021.

2021 winner Kyle Larson

If Larson were to win the Chili Bowl in 2022, he would accomplish what fellow NASCAR Cup Series driver Christopher Bell did from 2017-19, when he won three consecutive A-Main events in Tulsa.

Larson and Bell are two of nine NASCAR Cup Series drivers (current or former) who are featured on a record-setting entry list for the 2022 Chili Bowl.

Below is the breakdown of the TV and live streaming schedule for the 2022 Chili Bowl.


Date Event TV channel Live stream Racing start time
Monday, Jan. 10 Cummins, Inc. Qualifying Night plus the VIROC; Vacuworx Invitational Race of Champions N/A FloRacing 7 p.m. ET / 6 p.m. CT
Tuesday, Jan. 11 Warren CAT Qualifying Night N/A FloRacing 6 p.m. ET / 5 p.m. CT
Wednesday, Jan. 12 Hard Rock Casino Tulsa Qualifying Night N/A FloRacing 6 p.m. ET / 5 p.m. CT
Thursday, Jan. 13 John Christner Trucking Qualifying Night N/A FloRacing 6 p.m. ET / 5 p.m. CT
Friday, Jan. 14 Driven2SaveLives Qualifying Night N/A FloRacing 6 p.m. ET / 5 p.m. CT
Saturday, Jan. 15 Lucas Oil Championship Feature Events MAVTV Motorsports Network FloRacing (Up to D-Main); MAVTV Plus (C, B and A-Mains) 11 a.m. ET / 10 a.m. CT (Alphabet Soup Feature Races); 7 p.m. ET / 6 p.m. CT (Opening Ceremonies for C, B and A-Mains)



Both Larson and Bell, winners of the last five A-Main features in the Chili Bowl, are entered in the 2022 event. They are part of a record-breaking entry list.

As of Jan. 3, the still-growing entry list for the 2022 Chili Bowl had reached 380 drivers. The previous record for entries was 372, set ahead of the 2017 Chili Bowl.

Larson and Bell are two of nine NASCAR Cup Series drivers — current or former — included on the 2022 Chili Bowl entry list (more on those later). Chase Elliott, the 2020 Cup Series champion, is among them.

The entry list also includes a handful of drivers from the Xfinity and Truck Series, ARCA Menards Series, Whelen Modified Tour, Advance Auto Parts Weekly Series and every other corner of auto racing, including IndyCar (Conor Daly).

The complete entry list for the 2022 Chili Bowl can be viewed here.


Two drivers — Larson and Bell — have won the last five A-Mains at the Chili Bowl, the week’s feature event.

Legendary sprint car driver Sammy Swindell, a three-time World of Outlaws champion, holds the record with five Chili Bowl A-Main victories (1989, 1992, 1996, 1998, 2009). He is entered again in 2022.

Swindell’s son Kevin ranks second in Chili Bowl A-Main victories with four (all in a row from 2010-14), though injuries sustained in a 2015 crash ended his driving career.

Below is the complete list of Chili Bowl winners from 1987-2021.

Year Chili Bowl A-Main winner
1987 Rich Vogler
1988 Scott Hatton
1989 Sammy Swindell
1990 Johnny Heydenreich
1991 Lealand McSpadden
1992 Sammy Swindell
1993 Dave Blaney
1994 Andy Hillenburg
1995 Donnie Beechler
1996 Sammy Swindell
1997 Billy Boat
1998 Sammy Swindell
1999 Dan Boorse
2000 Cory Kruseman
2001 Jay Drake
2002 Tony Stewart
2003 Dan Boorse
2004 Cory Kruseman
2005 Tracy Hines
2006 Tim McCreadie
2007 Tony Stewart
2008 Damion Gardner
2009 Sammy Swindell
2010 Kevin Swindell
2011 Kevin Swindell
2012 Kevin Swindell
2013 Kevin Swindell
2014 Bryan Clauson
2015 Rico Abreu
2016 Rico Abreu
2017 Christopher Bell
2018 Christopher Bell
2019 Christopher Bell
2020 Kyle Larson
2021 Kyle Larson


Larson, Bell and Elliott are three of six active NASCAR Cup Series drivers entered in the 2022 Chili Bowl. Chase Briscoe, Alex Bowman and Ricky Stenhouse Jr. and Justin Allgaier  also will compete on the quarter-mile dirt track in Tulsa.

A couple former Cup Series drivers in Kasey Kahne and J.J. Yeley are entered in the 2022 Chili Bowl, as well. As is Ryan Newman, who wrapped up what could be his final Cup Series season in 2021.

Also, you have Cody Ware (No. 17D) and Brett Moffitt (No. 45M) joining Elliott in making their Chili Bowl debuts as well.

Larson has two wins, five top fives and seven top 10s in 10 feature races at the Chili Bowl. Among active Cup Series drivers, only Bell has more, with three wins in eight feature races.

Briscoe has just one championship feature start; he finished 22nd in 2017. Stenhouse has a pair of top-10 finishes in seven appearances in the A-Main at the Chili Bowl. Both Bowman and Elliott will be looking to reach the championship event for the first time in 2022.

Yeley has three top fives in eight feature races at the Chili Bowl. Kahne has one top 10 in seven such starts. Newman has one E-Main victory (2020) but has never competed in the A-Main feature.

IndyCar Drivers in the 2022 Chili Bowl

Former IndyCar driver, turned NASCAR driver, Santino Ferrucci is entered in the #16. Last year, he, Conor Daly and James Davison went south for the indoor Midget event and had a lot of fun but did not run well.

Also, Conor Daly will drive the #47D for DIAEDGE Racing.

No other IndyCar drivers are entered.  They must be afraid of embarrassing themselves, or prefer to stay home and eat Bom Boms.

Chocolate Bom Boms


Social Media Auto Publish Powered By :