IMSA: Hunter-Reay rejoins Cadillac Racing lineup for Sebring

IMSA WeatherTech SportsCar Championship race winner and INDYCAR champion Ryan Hunter-Reay will co-drive the No. 01 V-Performance Academy Cadillac DPi-V.R in the 70th Mobil 1 Twelve Hours of Sebring Presented by Advance Auto Parts.

Hunter-Reay, a resident of Fort Lauderdale, Fla., will reconnect with full-season drivers Renger van der Zande and Sebastien Bourdais in the No. 01 Cadillac Racing entry fielded by Chip Ganassi Racing for the March 17-19 event on the 3.74-mile, 17-turn Sebring International Raceway road course.

Hunter-Reay and van der Zande teamed with Jordan Taylor in the No. 10 Konica Minolta Cadillac DPi-V.R to win the 2018 Petit Le Mans, finish second in the Twelve Hours of Sebring and earn the pole for the season-opening Rolex 24 At Daytona.

Hunter-Reay, the 2014 Indianapolis 500 winner and 2012 INDYCAR champion with Chevrolet power, competed against Bourdais – a four-time INDYCAR champion – throughout his INDYCAR career that has covered 282 races over 18 years.

“It’s beyond belief that Ryan Hunter-Reay is available to be a Cadillac teammate at Sebring. Chip Ganassi Racing has admired his ability to consistently win major globally recognized events. He has that special knack to be a separator,” Chip Ganassi Racing managing director Mike Hull said. “We’re excited that Ryan’s an integral part of our team at the Twelve Hours of Sebring.”

Hunter-Reay also co-drove to the overall victory in the 2020 Twelve Hours of Sebring with Mazda Motorsports.

“I’m thrilled to be joining Chip Ganassi Racing and returning to Cadillac for the 70th running of the Twelve Hours of Sebring,” Hunter-Reay said. “This is a tremendous opportunity to work with one of the very best teams and manufacturers in motorsports. Sebring is my home track, and the Twelve Hours of Sebring is one of those iconic events that you focus on as a competitor. After winning the 2020 race overall, I’ve been eager to get back with a top team and compete for another win.”

Cadillac has won three of the five 12-hour races at Sebring International Raceway in DPi competition dating to 2017. The No. 5 Mustang Sampling Cadillac DPi-V.R, which started on the front row and placed third in the Rolex 24 At Daytona on Jan. 30, is the defending Twelve Hours of Sebring race winner. Tristan Vautier and Loic Duval return to co-drive the No. 5 Cadillac DPi-V.R with Richard Westbrook.

The No. 01 Cadillac DPi-V.R, co-driven by van der Zande, Kevin Magnussen and Scott Dixon, finished fifth in the 2021 race at Sebring. This year, Magnussen will share driving duties with Earl Bamber and Alex Lynn in the No. 02 Cadillac Accessories Cadillac DPi-V.R.

Chip Ganassi Racing INDYCAR drivers Alex Palou and Dixon joined van der Zande and Bourdais to co-drive the No. 01 V-Performance Academy Cadillac DPi-V.R in the 60th Rolex 24 At Daytona. Palou set the race lap record time.


Social Media Auto Publish Powered By :