Supercars: Van Gisbergen clean sweeps The Bend

Red Bull’s Shane van Gisbergen completed a crushing weekend at the OTR SuperSprint in a wet finale that was filled with crashes and some of the best driving ever seen in the Repco Supercars Championship.

For the third time in as many starts, van Gisbergen took home all 105 points on offer.

The Kiwi’s Race 23 win was his fifth in a row, 14th of the season and 68th of his career.

Shane van Gisbergen makes it 3 from 3 after taking out both races today during the OTR SuperSprint. Event 8 of the Repco Supercars Championship, Tailem Bend, South Australia, Australia. 31 July 2022

Critically, van Gisbergen gave Holden an unassailable lead in the Champion Manufacturer standings.

Cam Waters came home in second, with Boost Mobile Commodore driver Brodie Kostecki third.

Broc Feeney finished fifth ahead of Will Brown and Anton De Pasquale, who dropped behind Waters to third in the standings.

Red Bull Ampol Racing has now opened up a 121-point lead in the teams’ championship.

“That was awesome, racing someone who has nothing to lose,” van Gisbergen said.

“What an awesome weekend, can’t thank the team enough.”

A downpour before the race ensured the 24-lapper had to start behind the BP Ultimate Safety Car.

Waters led early and in one of the most entertaining displays of driving seen in recent races, the Monster Energy Mustang and Van Gisbergen swapped the race lead in the wet over and over again.

The defending Supercars Champion applied the pressure to Waters constantly, who made an error at Turn 17 and never found his way back to the front.

By the end of the race, nearly every single car in the field had suffered some kind of damage ranging from bonnets bent in half to missing pieces as they rolled back into pit lane.

Two drivers missed the final race of the event, Thomas Randle and Andre Heimgartner, who were transported to hospital for precautionary scans following a major crash in today’s earlier race.

Major start-line incident between Thomas Randle and Andre Heimgartner. Event 8 of the Repco Supercars Championship, Tailem Bend, South Australia, Australia. 31 July 2022

Van Gisbergen now leads Waters atop the Drivers’ Championship standings by 393 points, with De Pasquale third, Will Davison fourth and Chaz Mostert rounding out the top five.

The 2022 Repco Supercars Championship will resume at the Penrite Oil Sandown SuperSprint from 19-21 August at the famous Melbourne circuit.

Race Results

1 97 Van Gisbergen Red Bull Holden Racing Team 56:35.153
2 6 C. Waters Tickford Racing 1 +8.711
3 99 B. Kostecki Penrite Racing – Erebus +17.231
4 17 Davison Shell V-Power Racing Team +25.505
5 88 B. Feeney Red Bull Holden Racing Team +31.832
6 9 W. Brown Penrite Racing – Erebus +32.631
7 11 A. de Pasquale Shell V-Power Racing Team +32.862
8 25 Mostert WAU Racing Pty Ltd +33.341
9 2 Percat WAU Racing Pty Ltd +34.830
10 10 Holdsworth Penrite Racing +38.413
11 3 Slade CoolDrive Racing +46.510
12 5 Courtney Tickford Racing 1 +47.408
13 20 S. Pye Team 18 +47.889
14 31 J. Golding PremiAir Subway Racing +49.380
15 18 Winterbottom Team 18 +49.866
16 49 J. Boys Joss & Dynamic +59.930
17 14 B. Fullwood Brad Jones Racing +1:21.424
18 22 C. Pither PremiAir Coca Cola Racing +1:45.992
19 4 J. Smith SCT Motor Sports +1 Lap
20 96 M. Jones SCT Motor Sports +1 Lap
21 35 T. Hazelwood Matt Stone Racing +1 Lap
22 26 Reynolds Penrite Racing +4 Laps
NC 56 J. Kostecki Tickford Racing 2 +7 Laps
NC 34 J. Le Brocq Matt Stone Racing +19 Laps
NC 78 Z. Best Tickford Racing 3 +19 Laps


Driver  Team Points       Behind
Shane van Gisbergen Red Bull Ampol Racing Commodore 2196 -0
Cam Waters Monster Energy Mustang 1803 -393
Anton De Pasquale Shell V-Power Racing Mustang 1801 -395
Will Davison Shell V-Power Racing Mustang 1737 -459
Chaz Mostert Mobil 1 Optus Racing Commodore 1540 -656
Broc Feeney Red Bull Ampol Racing Commodore 1463 -733
David Reynolds Penrite Racing Commodore 1380 -816
Brodie Kostecki Boost Mobile Erebus Commodore 1279 -917
Andre Heimgartner R&J Batteries Commodore 1210 -986
Tim Slade CoolDrive Mustang 1193 -1003
James Courtney Snowy River Caravans Mustang 1191 -1005
Mark Winterbottom Irwin Racing Commodore 1129 -1067
Lee Holdsworth Penrite Racing Commodore 1084 -1112
Will Brown Boost Mobile Erebus Commodore 1066 -1130
Nick Percat Mobil 1 NTI Commodore 1024 -1172
Todd Hazelwood Truck Assist Commodore 996 -1200
Jack Le Brocq Truck Assist Commodore 833 -1363
Bryce Fullwood Middy’s Commodore 830 -1366
Scott Pye Nulon Racing Commodore 820 -1376
Macauley Jones BJR Commodore 803 -1393
Chris Pither Coca Cola Commodore 727 -1469
Jake Kostecki Tradie Mustang 721 -1475
Thomas Randle Castrol Racing Mustang 721 -1475
Jack Smith SCT Logistics Commodore 658 -1538
James Golding Subway Commodore 176 -2020
Social Media Auto Publish Powered By :