Supercars: Van Gisbergen seals 2022 title with victory

Shane van Gisbergen sealed the 2022 Supercars with a dominant race win on the streets of Surfers Paradise.

Van Gisbergen was imperious in his march to win No. 20 of the season.

The Red Bull Ampol Racing driver had to overhaul pole-sitter David Reynolds to win the race.

From there, the New Zealander pieced together a dominant drive to seal his third crown with a win.

Shane van Gisbergen bounces off one of the many Surfers Paradise Curbs

The 85-lap race ran green for its entirety, van Gisbergen taking the win with a margin of 16.8s.

It was his 11th win from the last 13 races, and a record-breaking 26th podium of the season.

Reynolds and Chaz Mostert completed the podium, with Will Davison and Cam Waters rounding out the top five.

Waters was the only driver who could deny van Gisbergen, but threw away a podium with a wild spin before his second stop.

“We had to beat one car to secure it, but we killed everyone,” he said.

“That was amazing, it was a great battle at the start, Dave was driving awesome. I enjoyed racing him, it’s been a while.

“What a year, it’s been a lot of fun… I want to come out tomorrow and do the same job.

“To see the guys, how much effort they’ve been putting in… I’m stoked, It’s hard to put it into words yet.”

Reynolds led van Gisbergen into the first chicane, and set about opening up a gap.

A charging van Gisbergen recovered from a wobble at the final corner on lap 2 to keep the pressure on.

James Courtney and Davison began the pit cycle on lap 8, with the latter encountering a slow stop.

Van Gisbergen closed to Reynolds and threatened an overtake at the hairpin on lap 15.

On the following lap, Reynolds could do little to prevent van Gisbergen making the move stick.

Waters and Anton De Pasquale stopped on lap 19, and rejoined ahead of Courtney and Davison.

Van Gisbergen opened up a 1.7s lead by the time Reynolds pitted on lap 24.

Red Bull Ampol Racing responded and brought van Gisbergen in on the following lap.

He rejoined just ahead of Reynolds, who had to overhaul the lapped Jack Smith down the pit straight.

Van Gisbergen retained the lead after the final stoppers pitted, with Reynolds 0.5s behind.

Waters, De Pasquale, Davison and Courtney were within 6.3s of the lead.

Mostert, meanwhile, had dropped from fourth at the start to seventh, with Thomas Randle and Mark Winterbottom behind.

Drivers began to encounter trouble; Will Brown hit a beach chicane tyre bundle, and James Golding hit Bryce Fullwood at the first chicane.

Andre Heimgartner, meanwhile, was also forced into the garage with a misfire.

Van Gisbergen opened up a 2.5s gap as Reynolds reported steering dramas.

Courtney kicked off the second pit cycle on lap 43; meanwhile, Mostert picked off both Shell V-Power drivers, and set off after Waters.

Davison stopped on lap 44; De Pasquale emerged behind teammate Davison following his own stop.

By then, van Gisbergen was 5.7s ahead of Reynolds, with Mostert clearing Waters at the beach chicane.

In pursuit of his old rival and former teammate, Waters tagged the barriers at the front chicane and spun.

The Monster Ford avoided the concrete walls, but dropped a swag of time.

Mostert led Waters into the lane, with the latter dropping behind both Shell V-Power drivers.

Penrite Racing changed the steering wheel on Reynolds’ car when he took his final stop.

Van Gisbergen retained the effective lead when he stopped on lap 54, and held a 10-second lead over Reynolds.

Reynolds, still fighting his steering dramas, came under attack from Mostert, who was later warned for exceeding track limits.

Waters passed De Pasquale for fifth, with Davison closing up to Reynolds and Mostert ahead.

Try as he might, Davison was unable to take the final podium spot from Mostert, with Reynolds hanging onto second.

Van Gisbergen will take an unassailable 606-point lead over Waters into Sunday.

Cars will return to the track on Sunday for ARMOR ALL Qualifying, a Shootout and Race 32.

Gold Coast Race 1 Results

1 97 Van Gisbergen Red Bull Holden Racing Team +0.000s
2 26 Reynolds Penrite Racing +16.851
3 25 Mostert Walkinshaw Andretti United +17.794
4 17 Davison Shell V-Power Racing Team +18.113
5 6 C. Waters Tickford Racing 1 +32.566
6 11 A. de Pasquale Shell V-Power Racing Team +34.439
7 99 B. Kostecki Penrite Racing – Erebus +34.931
8 5 Courtney Tickford Racing 1 +42.623
9 18 Winterbottom Team 18 +58.958
10 2 Percat Walkinshaw Andretti United +1:06.106
11 55 T. Randle Tickford Racing 2 +1:08.500
12 3 Slade CoolDrive Racing +1 Lap
13 34 J. Le Brocq Matt Stone Racing +1 Lap
14 88 B. Feeney Red Bull Holden Racing Team +1 Lap
15 10 Holdsworth Penrite Racing +1 Lap
16 22 C. Pither PremiAir Coca Cola Racing +1 Lap
17 20 S. Pye Team 18 +1 Lap
18 35 T. Hazelwood Matt Stone Racing +1 Lap
19 31 J. Golding PremiAir Subway Racing +1 Lap
20 96 M. Jones SCT Motor Sports +1 Lap
21 4 J. Smith SCT Motor Sports +2 Laps
22 14 B. Fullwood Brad Jones Racing +2 Laps
23 56 J. Kostecki Tickford Racing 2 +3 Laps
24 9 W. Brown Penrite Racing – Erebus +15 Laps
NC 8 Heimgartner Brad Jones Racing +55 Laps



Social Media Auto Publish Powered By :