Supercars: Van Gisbergen breaks record in final practice for Adelaide 500

Champion elect Shane van Gisbergen has clocked the fastest ever lap around the Adelaide Parklands Street Circuit in a Supercar in today’s final practice session for the VALO Adelaide 500.

On Sunday, the kiwi will be crowned Supercars’ Champion for the third time in his career after a record-breaking season in 2022.

Today, the Red Bull ace, sporting the #1 as part of the farewell to Holden, clocked a new practice/qualifying lap record in the final session before qualifying begins this afternoon, breaking the old mark by 0.04 seconds.

Van Gisbergen wasn’t the only driver to break the old record set by Chaz Mostert in 2020. Rookie Thomas Randle, who was quickest in opening practice yesterday.

The #97 Holden and #55 Ford were split by just 0.03s, with Cam Waters third.

Waters survived a major scare late in the session when he scraped the wall at Turn 11.

The #6 Monster Ford escaped with little more than paint damage on driver’s right.

Drivers will put everything on the line to secure their spot in tomorrow’s coveted ARMOR ALL Top Ten Shootout later this afternoon.

Final Practice Results

Pos No. Team/Sponsor Driver Car Time Behind
1 1 Red Bull Ampol Racing Shane van Gisbergen Holden Commodore ZB 1m19.1992s  0.0000
2 55 Castrol Racing Thomas Randle Ford Mustang GT 1m19.2326s 0.0334
3 6 Monster Energy Racing Cameron Waters Ford Mustang GT 1m19.3014s 0.1022
4 88 Red Bull Ampol Racing Broc Feeney Holden Commodore ZB 1m19.4751s 0.2759
5 17 Shell V-Power Racing Team Will Davison Ford Mustang GT 1m19.4821s 0.2829
6 20 Toyota Forklifts Scott Pye Holden Commodore ZB 1m19.5044s 0.3052
7 25 Mobil 1 Optus Racing Chaz Mostert Holden Commodore ZB 1m19.5990s 0.3998
8 11 Shell V-Power Racing Team Anton De Pasquale Ford Mustang GT 1m19.6610s 0.4618
9 31 Subway PremiAir Racing James Golding Holden Commodore ZB 1m19.6915s 0.4923
10 8 R&J Batteries Racing Andre Heimgartner Holden Commodore ZB 1m19.7189s 0.5197
11 10 Penrite Racing Lee Holdsworth Ford Mustang GT 1m19.7226s 0.5234
12 34 Truck Assist Racing Jack Le Brocq Holden Commodore ZB 1m19.7500s 0.5508
13 5 Snowy River Racing James Courtney Ford Mustang GT 1m19.8072s 0.6080
14 18 IRWIN Racing Mark Winterbottom Holden Commodore ZB 1m20.0021s 0.8029
15 35 Truck Assist Racing Todd Hazelwood Holden Commodore ZB 1m20.0143s 0.8151
16 26 Penrite Racing David Reynolds Ford Mustang GT 1m20.0153s 0.8161
17 99 Boost Mobile Racing by Erebus Brodie Kostecki Holden Commodore ZB 1m20.0682s 0.8690
18 22 PremiAir Coca Cola Racing Chris Pither Holden Commodore ZB 1m20.1069s 0.9077
19 14 Middy’s Electrical Bryce Fullwood Holden Commodore ZB 1m20.1408s 0.9416
20 3 CoolDrive Auto Parts Tim Slade Ford Mustang GT 1m20.1499s 0.9507
21 56 Tradie Racing Jake Kostecki Ford Mustang GT 1m20.1741s 0.9749
22 2 Mobil 1 NTI Racing Nick Percat Holden Commodore ZB 1m20.2111s 1.0119
23 96 TRG Transport Racing Macauley Jones Holden Commodore ZB 1m20.3193s 1.1201
24 9 Boost Mobile Racing by Erebus William Brown Holden Commodore ZB 1m20.3429s 1.1437
25 4 SCT Racing Jack Smith Holden Commodore ZB 1m20.5189s 1.3197
Social Media Auto Publish Powered By :