PremiAir Nulon Racing’s James Golding (No. 31 Chevrolet Camaro)

Supercars News: Golding stuns field with fastest time in Darwin Quals

PremiAir Nulon Racing’s James Golding (No. 31 Chevrolet Camaro) has taken a shock provisional pole in qualifying on Friday at the betr Darwin Triple Crown, with a mixed grid to finish the first day of action in the Top End.

He will be the last car out for tomorrow’s Boost Mobile Top Ten Shootout, as the Gold Coast-based driver will look to secure his first career Supercars pole position.

Golding can now win the Darwin Triple Crown, but will have to win both tomorrow and Sunday’s 139-kilometre races to become the third driver ever to take the honors.

PremiAir Nulon Racing’s James Golding (No. 31 Chevrolet Camaro)

Nick Percat (No. 10 Bendix Chevrolet Camaro) has made a welcome return to the top of the time sheets, provisionally qualifying second just 0.07 of a second off Golding’s time.

A race winner at Darwin last year, Mark Winterbottom (No. 18 DeWalt Chevrolet Camaro) was third quickest ahead of the Triple Eight Race Engineering duo of Broc Feeney (No. 88 Red Bull Ampol Chevrolet Camaro) and Will Brown (No. 87 Red Bull Ampol Chevrolet Camaro) rounding out the top five.

The fastest 10 drivers from today’s qualifying session will take part in the Shootout to determine the first five rows for Saturday’s race.

“It’s really challenging out there, with the heat up here in Darwin and getting the tires dialed in right without sliding it too much and having some tire left at the end of the lap there,” Golding said.

“So, pretty tricky, but yeah, managed to hold on to it. Credit to all the boys and girls here. We’ve been working really hard over the last couple of years, we’re finally getting closer.

“Obviously the job’s not finished yet. I wish there wasn’t a Shootout now, but it’s a good way to be certainly heading into tomorrow. We’ve got a lot of confidence.”

Further down the order, Walkinshaw Andretti United had a day to forget, Chaz Mostert (No. 25 Mobil 1 Optus Ford Mustang) – who won in Perth last month – managing just 22nd and rookie teammate Ryan Wood (No. 2 Mobil 1 Truck Assist Ford Mustang) 24th.

Qualifying Results

1 31 J. Golding PremiAir Nulon Racing 1:05.691 +0.000
2 10 Percat Tyrepower Racing 1:05.765 +0.074
3 18 Winterbottom Tradie Beer Racing 1:05.843 +0.152
4 88 B. Feeney Red Bull Ampol Racing 1:05.897 +0.205
5 87 W. Brown Red Bull Ampol Racing 1:05.902 +0.211
6 11 A. de Pasquale Shell V-Power Racing Team 1:05.943 +0.252
7 20 Reynolds Tradie Beer Racing 1:05.956 +0.265
8 23 Slade PremiAir Nulon Racing 1:05.961 +0.270
9 6 C. Waters Monster Castrol Racing 1:05.974 +0.283
10 8 Heimgartner R&J Batteries Racing 1:06.030 +0.339
11 1 B. Kostecki Erebus Motorsport 1:06.071 +0.380
12 9 J. Le Brocq Erebus Motorsport 1:06.072 +0.381
13 19 M. Payne Penrite Racing 1:06.077 +0.386
14 26 R. Stanaway Penrite Racing 1:06.098 +0.407
15 55 T. Randle Monster Castrol Racing 1:06.158 +0.467
16 14 B. Fullwood R&J Batteries Racing 1:06.238 +0.547
17 17 Davison Shell V-Power Racing Team 1:06.242 +0.550
18 7 Courtney Snowy River Racing 1:06.264 +0.573
19 4 C. Hill Tyrepower Racing 1:06.292 +0.601
20 96 M. Jones SCT Motorsport 1:06.336 +0.645
21 12 J. Evans SCT Motorsport 1:06.459 +0.768
22 25 Mostert Walkinshaw Andretti United 1:06.478 +0.787
23 888 C. Murray Team Vortex 1:06.483 +0.792
24 2 R. Wood Walkinshaw Andretti United 1:06.495 +0.804
25 3 A. Love Snowy River Racing 1:06.585 +0.893

Social Media Auto Publish Powered By :