F2: Vips beats Boschung to P1 in opening session at Baku

While a lot of the field were still getting to grips with the Baku City Circuit, Jüri Vips was finding its limits, the Hitech Grand Prix racer going more than seven-tenths faster than Campos Racing’s Ralph Boschung and over a second quicker than ART Grand Prix’s Théo Pourchaire to finish Free Practice in first.

Less than two weeks on from the challenges of the tight and twisting Monte Carlo circuit, the class of 2021 were arriving at a different type of street track, tackling the long, wide straights of Baku.

Theo Pourchaire of France and ART Grand Prix (10) drives on track during practice ahead of Round 3:Baku of the Formula 2 Championship at Baku City Circuit on June 04, 2021 in Baku, Azerbaijan. (Photo by Dan Mullan – Formula 1/Formula Motorsport Limited via Getty Images)

For many, it was a first experience of the Baku City Circuit and they took their time adjusting to the new surroundings. MP Motorsport duo Lirim Zendeli and Richard Verschoor led the field around the streets but were well-off representative times in the opening five minutes.

Ending the session in fifth and sixth, Oscar Piastri and Marcus Armstrong had initially traded fastest times when the tarmac began to warm up. The latter had set the initial standard at 2:00.851, before two incidents on track brought running to a halt.

Practice 1 Results

Pos Driver Team Laps Time Gap
1 Jüri Vips HitechGP 15 1m55.210s 0.000s
2 Ralph Boschung Campos Racing 16 1m55.976s 0.766s
3 Theo Pourchaire ART Grand Prix 17 1m56.323s 1.113s
4 Robert Shwartzman Prema Powerteam 16 1m56.375s 1.165s
5 Oscar Piastri Prema Powerteam 16 1m56.394s 1.184s
6 Marcus Armstrong DAMS 17 1m56.515s 1.305s
7 Bent Viscaal Trident 15 1m56.594s 1.384s
8 David Beckmann Charouz Racing System 16 1m56.778s 1.568s
9 Dan Ticktum Carlin 16 1m56.795s 1.585s
10 Christian Lundgaard ART Grand Prix 17 1m56.821s 1.611s
11 Liam Lawson HitechGP 14 1m56.860s 1.650s
12 Guanyu Zhou UNI-Virtuosi 15 1m57.019s 1.809s
13 Jack Aitken HWA Racelab 16 1m57.260s 2.050s
14 Richard Verschoor MP Motorsport 16 1m57.504s 2.294s
15 Felipe Drugovich UNI-Virtuosi 14 1m57.561s 2.351s
16 Jehan Daruvala Carlin 16 1m57.691s 2.481s
17 Roy Nissany DAMS 16 1m58.221s 3.011s
18 Guilherme Samaia Charouz Racing System 15 1m59.553s 4.343s
19 Matteo Nannini Campos Racing 16 1m59.747s 4.537s
20 Alessio Deledda HWA Racelab 16 2m01.486s 6.276s
21 Lirim Zendeli MP Motorsport 4 2m03.262s 8.052s
22 Marino Sato Trident 4 2m20.421s 25.211s
Social Media Auto Publish Powered By : XYZScripts.com