Isack Hadjar

Formula 2 News: Hadjar loses Sprint Race win

Following the conclusion of the Formula 2 Sprint Race in Melbourne, multiple drivers have received post-race penalties.

Isack Hadjar (Pictured above) has been handed a 10-second time penalty after the Campos Racing driver was found to have caused a collision with his teammate Josep María Martí and Invicta Racing’s Gabriel Bortoleto at the start of the Race.

The Stewards spoke to all three drivers involved and examined video evidence before determining that the Frenchman moved significantly to the right to get a run on the car on Roman Stanek in front of him without realizing that Martí had a significant portion of his car alongside him.

This move caused Martí to move to the right to take avoiding action and as a result he made contact with Bortoleto leading to a second collision. The Stewards determined that Hadjar was predominantly to blame and handed him a 10-second time penalty.

This means that Hadjar loses his victory and drops down to sixth, promoting Trident’s Stanek to P1. MP Motorsport’s Dennis Hauger takes P2, and Invicta Racing driver Kush Maini moves up to third. The Indian driver also moves up to third in the Drivers’ Championship as a result, now on 33 points.

Moreover, Oliver Bearman has also been handed a 10-second time penalty for forcing PHM AIX Racing’s Joshua Duerksen off the track.

After the Stewards heard from both drivers and examined all available video evidence, it showed that Bearman was alongside Duerksen at the apex and exit of Turn 4 and. While the PREMA Racing driver raced in a controlled manner, he did not leave a fair and acceptable width for Duerksen at the exit of the corner.

This means Bearman drops from P8 to 15th in the classification, promoting ART Grand Prix driver Zak O’Sullivan up to eighth and giving him the final point in the Sprint Race.

Finally, Jak Crawford has been handed a five-place grid penalty for tomorrow’s Feature Race after the Stewards found that he did not have the correct number of tyres to comply with the Sporting Regulations in relation to the Feature Race.

The Stewards considered the matter extensively and having discussed the situation with a Technical Delegate, concluded that during Qualifying, Crawford rendered the left rear tyres of both “option” compound sets unusable for safety reasons.

It was determined that it was not for reasons of force majeure and therefore Car 7 cannot comply with the regulations as a result. He will drop five places in the Feature Race as this is when the tyre is required to be used.

Revised Results (22 laps)

Pos Driver Team Behind
1 Roman Stanek Trident +0.000s
2 Dennis Hauger MP Motorsport +0.349s
3 Kush Maini Invicta Racing +1.754s
4 Franco Colapinto MP Motorsport +2.393s
5 Ritomo Miyata Rodin Motorsport +2.984s
6 Isack Hadjar Campos Racing +3.173s
7 Victor Martins ART Grand Prix +3.639s
8 Zak O’Sullivan ART Grand Prix +6.615s
9 Jak Crawford DAMS +7.297s
10 Zane Maloney Rodin Motorsport +7.921s
11 Juan Manuel Correa DAMS +10.156s
12 Enzo Fittipaldi Van Amersfoort Racing +11.864s
13 Taylor Barnard PHM Racing +15.612s
14 Ollie Bearman Prema +16.095s
15 Rafael Villagomez Van Amersfoort Racing +16.269s
16 Amaury Cordeel Hitech +35.544s
17 Joshua Duerksen PHM Racing +44.447s
18 Paul Aron Hitech +1m12.351s
Ret Andrea Kimi Antonelli Prema DNF
Ret Richard Verschoor Trident DNF
Ret Gabriel Bortoleto Invicta Racing DNF
Ret Pepe Marti Campos Racing DNF
Fastest lap: Hadjar, 1m31.573s
Social Media Auto Publish Powered By :