Oscar Piastri, McLaren MCL60

F1: Piastri leads McLaren 1-2 in Sprint Race Qualifying

With Max Verstappen having his fastest lap deleted for track limits, rookie Oscar Piastri  won the pole for the Qatar GP Sprint Race.

–by Mark Cipolloni–

Almost all the drivers had their lap times deleted because track limit infractions by Piastri kept it clean in his #81 McLaren to win pole with a lap of 1m24.454s.

Piastri’s McLaren teammate Lando Norris was 2nd fastest just 0.082s behind.

“Very, very happy,” said Piastri. “It was a pretty good lap – I saw Lando on the big screen made a mistake, I don’t know how his lap was looking. Great work from the team. [Verstappen] is starting third so he’s not a million miles away but we’ll try our best.”

Oscar Piastri wins Qatar GP Sprint Race pole
Oscar Piastri wins Qatar GP Sprint Race pole

After winning the pole on Friday for Sunday’s Qatar GP, Max Verstappen will start third, 0.192s behind.  He just has to finish third in the Sprint Race to seal his 3rd World driving title.

George Russell was 4th for Mercedes, 0.387s back, while his teammate Lewis Hamilton was not fast enough to make it out of Q2.

The Ferraris of Carlos Sainz jr and Charles Leclerc were 5th and 6th, although Fernando Alonso was originally 5th quick before being hit with a track limit infraction.

Can Piastri make it to the flag in front? Norris won’t like being shown up one bit, and he’ll be gunning for his teammate. But those two have Verstappen to contend with as well – and the Dutchman could be about to write his name in the history books. Not to be missed.

Qatar GP Sprint Race Qualifying Results

1 Oscar Piastri AUS McLaren F1 Team 1m25.979s 1m25.496s 1m24.454s
2 Lando Norris GBR McLaren F1 Team 1m25.672s 1m24.947s 1m24.536s
3 Max Verstappen NED Oracle Red Bull Racing 1m25.510s 1m25.199s 1m24.646s
4 George Russell GBR Mercedes AMG Petronas F1 Team 1m25.413s 1m25.027s 1m24.841s
5 Carlos Sainz ESP Scuderia Ferrari 1m25.872s 1m25.433s 1m25.155s
6 Charles Leclerc MON Scuderia Ferrari 1m26.266s 1m25.367s 1m25.247s
7 Nico Hulkenberg GER MoneyGram Haas F1 Team 1m26.450s 1m25.499s 1m25.320s
8 Sergio Perez MEX Oracle Bull Racing 1m26.123s 1m25.143s 1m25.382s
9 Fernando Alonso ESP Aston Martin Aramco Cognizant 1m25.936s 1m25.344s No Time Set
10 Esteban Ocon FRA BWT Alpine F1 Team 1m26.072s 1m25.510s No Time Set
11 Pierre Gasly FRA BWT Alpine F1 Team 1m25.829s 1m25.686s
12 Lewis Hamilton GBR Mercedes AMG Petronas F1 Team 1m26.424s 1m25.962s
13 Valtteri Bottas FIN Alfa Romeo F1 Team Stake 1m26.449s 1m26.236s
14 Liam Lawson NZL Scuderia AlphaTauri 1m26.202s 1m26.584s
15 Zhou Guanyu CHN Alfa Romeo F1 Team Stake 1m26.669s 1m54.546s
16 Lance Stroll CAN Aston Martin Aramco Cognizant 1m26.849s
17 Alex Albon THA Williams Racing 1m26.862s
18 Yuki Tsunoda JPN Scuderia AlphaTauri 1m26.926s
19 Kevin Magnussen DEN MoneyGram Haas F1 Team 1m27.438s
20 Logan Sargeant USA Williams Racing 2m05.741s


Social Media Auto Publish Powered By : XYZScripts.com