Jorge Martin

MotoGP: Martin wins 5th straight Sprint Race

Using his powerful Pramac Ducati, Jorge Martin made it five MotoGP Sprint race wins in a row in Thailand, with points leader Francesco Bagnaia only seventh.

–by Mark Cipolloni–

With the threatening rain holding off, Martin, who led by as much as 2-seconds, won the Sprint race by 0.933s, but he was never seriously challenged once out in front.

As the lights went out, it wasn’t the best start for Martin, but it was enough for the number 89 to head off a Turn 1 charge from Marini. From there it was hammer down for the Spaniard

Initially, it was Luca Marini, who started second on the grid for Mooney VR46 who gave chase, but Brad Binder saw his opportunity to pass and despite the Italian trying to block, Binder moved ahead to finish second for Red Bull KTM.

Marini was clear in third while Marc Marquez took 4th for Honda with a late final corner pass on Aprilia rider Aleix Espargaro who rounded out the top-5.

Marco Bezzecchi in sixth on the second Mooney VR46 Ducati.

Alex Marquez came home eighth after getting his own elbows out both in the group and against Phillip Island winner Johann Zarco, with the Frenchman forced to settle for ninth. Jack Miller just missed out on a point in P10.

Bagnaia saw his point lead over Martin shrink to 18 points: 369 to 351.

Thailand Sprint Race Results

1 Jorge Martin SPA Pramac Ducati (GP23) +0.000s
2 Brad Binder RSA Red Bull KTM (RC16) +0.933s
3 Luca Marini ITA Mooney VR46 Ducati (GP22) +1.841s
4 Marc Marquez SPA Repsol Honda (RC213V) +3.503s
5 Aleix Espargaro SPA Aprilia Racing (RS-GP23) +3.581s
6 Marco Bezzecchi ITA Mooney VR46 Ducati (GP22) +4.029s
7 Francesco Bagnaia ITA Ducati Lenovo (GP23) +4.121s
8 Alex Marquez SPA Gresini Ducati (GP22) +6.727s
9 Johann Zarco FRA Pramac Ducati (GP23) +7.323s
10 Jack Miller AUS Red Bull KTM (RC16) +9.240s
11 Fabio Quartararo FRA Monster Yamaha (YZR-M1) +9.339s
12 Joan Mir SPA Repsol Honda (RC213V) +10.356s
13 Enea Bastianini ITA Ducati Lenovo (GP23) +12.312s
14 Raul Fernandez SPA RNF Aprilia (RS-GP22) +15.390s
15 Franco Morbidelli ITA Monster Yamaha (YZR-M1) +15.535s
16 Pol Espargaro SPA Tech3 GASGAS (RC16) +15.644s
17 Miguel Oliveira POR RNF Aprilia (RS-GP22) +17.753s
18 Maverick Viñales SPA Aprilia Racing (RS-GP23) +22.675s
19 Takaaki Nakagami JPN LCR Honda (RC213V) +37.854s
20 Fabio Di Giannantonio ITA Gresini Ducati (GP22) DNF
21 Augusto Fernandez SPA Tech3 GASGAS (RC16)* DNF


Social Media Auto Publish Powered By :